🔧 BUILD Intel's Datsun 510

Intel

TCG Elite Member
Oct 28, 2009
Palatine
So I have been poking around for a 510 for about 2 years. The issue I have had is most of the good deals on the west coast go before I even have a shot at them and transporting back a non running car and the associated parts gets to be expensive along with traveling out there. Woke up one morning to a craigslist alert that a 510 was for sale in Illinois. Went and saw it that night and picked it up 2 days later. Was going to drive it back last friday but the car has no wipers or headlights right now so luckily my great friend stepped in and with the help of a uhaul flatbed and his suburban we got her home safely.

The good
280zx front suspension/coilovers
Wilwood front brakes
Wilwood master cylinder
Almost rust free for the age and location
KA24de swap with 5speed
Megasquirt

The Bad
No headlights
No wipers
No blinkers
No speedo or tach
Loud exhaust that exits in front of driver rear wheel
Spray painted green.
XXR wheels (look nice but want something a bit more authentic)
Needs a lot of body work to just straighten out the panels

I have been looking for a project to work on that was a bit older and simpler then my 300zx and this is it. Hoping to fix the tune on the megasquirt so she stars up easier, get the fuel pump whine resolved, rewire the headlights and turn signals and drive her this year. Fix the 300zx over winter and then work on this next year until she is restored. Already down the restomod route so will continue that trend.
Datsun 510 first bought-4 by Mark Olsen, on Flickr

Datsun 510 first bought-3 by Mark Olsen, on Flickr

Datsun 510 first bought-11 by Mark Olsen, on Flickr

Datsun 510 first bought-10 by Mark Olsen, on Flickr

Datsun 510 first bought-8 by Mark Olsen, on Flickr

Datsun 510 first bought-7 by Mark Olsen, on Flickr

Loud ass fuel pump
Datsun 510 first bought-5 by Mark Olsen, on Flickr

Last edited:

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
May 23, 2007
Elgin
Real Name