Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > TCG Technical > The Blue Oval > Marauder Tech

User Tag List

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By Flyn
  • 1 Post By Silverback
  • 1 Post By Sprayin
  • 1 Post By yjmud

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2012, 12:40 PM   #1
 
MM.Junior.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 278
Casino cash: $5136600
0.10 per day
Question Blue smoke...

Well today I started the marauder and when I did, I was sitting down waiting for It to warm up a little then I noticed blue smoke in my rear view mirror...but its weird though cause as far as I know it only makes blue smoke when start up but the rest of the drive was fine...so my question is, why is it producing blue smoke ONLY at start up? Ideas, suggestions, anyone? Thanks in advance!!
MM.Junior. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 12:49 PM   #2
Forum Sponsor
 
Jokerzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ashkum
Posts: 3,629
Casino cash: $12678900
1.38 per day
Default

Oil is getting into the combustion chamber and burning up. Cause could vary from blow by to a bad gasket to a bad valve and maybe more.
__________________

Jokers performance ports

Need anything ported or polished or both pm me

700 hp 4 door Harley truck
435 hp lightning for sale
Jokerzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 01:03 PM   #3
 
MM.Junior.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 278
Casino cash: $5136600
0.10 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jokerzl View Post
Oil is getting into the combustion chamber and burning up. Cause could vary from blow by to a bad gasket to a bad valve and maybe more.
Does what I kinda been thinking. But I mean when I accelerate nothing happens, like no blue smoke. Just when it starts it like "puffs" a bit of blue smoke and that's it. I noticed it when I added Lucas oil stabilizer. Could that be the cause??? :

(By the way, I love your lightning!! Especially the color its so unique but the whole truck overall is pretty nice)
MM.Junior. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 01:17 PM   #4
Go ahead. I'll catch up.
 
Flyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Selling homes on the Gulf Coast of Florida
Posts: 45,630
Casino cash: $231362900
8.12 per day
Default

Gaskets probably seal better once they warm up.
MM.Junior. likes this.
Flyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 01:20 PM   #5
Forum Sponsor
 
Jokerzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ashkum
Posts: 3,629
Casino cash: $12678900
1.38 per day
Default

Do you add any thing to your gas tank?

Oil shouldn't be getting into cylinder chamber and burning up.

Lucas stabilizer shouldn't have to be added to modern oilseed unless you run cheap stuff.
Jokerzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 01:27 PM   #6
 
MM.Junior.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 278
Casino cash: $5136600
0.10 per day
Default

The only thing that goes in the tank is 93 octane (premium) from BP and this...(sorry I was thinking of the wrong Lucas product:/)
MM.Junior. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 01:37 PM   #7
Forum Sponsor
 
Jokerzl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ashkum
Posts: 3,629
Casino cash: $12678900
1.38 per day
Default

You add that every time? If not and you just do it every other time you may be cleaning the carbon off but since you run 93 all the time carbon build up may be less significant.
Jokerzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 01:57 PM   #8
 
MM.Junior.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 278
Casino cash: $5136600
0.10 per day
Default

Not every time more Like every other time. And that's What I was thinking, maybe its getting rid of the build up since, as far as I know, is the first time the Lucas has been added.
MM.Junior. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 05:35 PM   #9
 
Silverback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 83
Casino cash: $4683100
0.03 per day
Default

Junior;

Set your mind at rest, the MM has had this issue from day 1. Some drivers experience it, some don't. If the blue smoke is just once in a while at start up, then all's OK. If it's on every start up or during driving then the motor may need attention or further testing. You didn't indicate the mileage.

My valve seals were shot but no smoke.
MM.Junior. likes this.
Silverback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 05:51 PM   #10
 
yjmud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: crystal lake
Posts: 740
Casino cash: $5173300
0.23 per day
Default

my bros gt500kr will puff a little at start up with a little over 6k on it
my guess is weak seals my marauder does the same as well
yjmud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 06:48 PM   #11
Public Enemy #1
 
Sprayin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 16,986
Casino cash: $67886538
4.31 per day
Default

A lot pistons are cam ground. Meaning they are made so that they are round when they warm up. Since there is more material at certain places on the piston, they expand differently, so the piston isn't a perfect fit before the entire reaches operating temp. Its one of the main reasons you aren't supposed to go under heavy load before the engine reaches operating temp (it'll slap). If it has a few extra miles on it it'll smoke at start up. You should be fine, just watch your oil level.
nick122590 likes this.
__________________
Semi-Retired
Sprayin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 07:00 PM   #12
Guspech Superdriller
 
guspech750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North Aurora
Posts: 7,076
Casino cash: $35537700
2.04 per day
Default

Quite normal for a lot of Marauder owners. Nothing to worry about. Just watch your oil level.
__________________
Go E.A.D.
Boost gets you laid.
guspech750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 12:30 AM   #13
 
MM.Junior.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 278
Casino cash: $5136600
0.10 per day
Default

Oh see. I learned something new today thanks everyone! And well the marauder has current 25,665ish miles so far. And Yeah I would keep an eye on my oil level, it be easier if the dam oil gauge worked rather than just be there for show-_- (heard the console gauges on the marauders don't quite function accurately, is this true?:0)
MM.Junior. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 10:26 AM   #14
 
yjmud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: crystal lake
Posts: 740
Casino cash: $5173300
0.23 per day
Default

very much so easy to change just need a replacement volts gauge to match
MM.Junior. likes this.
yjmud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 11:39 AM   #15
 
MM.Junior.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 278
Casino cash: $5136600
0.10 per day
Default

Where or how, could I make the console gauges work probably? Would I have to remove all two gauges for new ones?
MM.Junior. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 01:51 PM   #16
 
yjmud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: crystal lake
Posts: 740
Casino cash: $5173300
0.23 per day
Default

yes replace both gauges to match or put just one but it will not back light like the original one
yjmud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 03:30 PM   #17
 
MM.Junior.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 278
Casino cash: $5136600
0.10 per day
Default

Hhhmmm I wanna get the closest possible look to original on these gauges but I wanna make them function not just have them for show, so does anyone know what type or where to get similar functional gauges installed?
MM.Junior. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 11:05 PM   #18
 
yjmud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: crystal lake
Posts: 740
Casino cash: $5173300
0.23 per day
Default

autometer ulta lights I think the ultra light II is a back lit version 2 1/16"
yjmud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 11:46 PM   #19
 
MM.Junior.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 278
Casino cash: $5136600
0.10 per day
Default

This is what you meant right..
autometer oil pressure gauge - Product Details

Hhmm I was thinking instead of relplacing the volts gauge into a functional one...if I switch it to an Air/Gas ratio type gauge thing...but I don't have a supercharger:/. So I guess no boost gauge either for now
MM.Junior. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 08:07 AM   #20
 
yjmud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: crystal lake
Posts: 740
Casino cash: $5173300
0.23 per day
Default

if you are going to forced induction a boost or a a/f gauge would not be a bad start you will need when you do it anyways
yjmud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 10:30 AM   #21
 
Burt Ragio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 77
Casino cash: $4639100
0.03 per day
Default

Add a MuscleMerc catch can.
Burt Ragio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 11:15 AM   #22
 
MM.Junior.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 278
Casino cash: $5136600
0.10 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burt Ragio View Post
Add a MuscleMerc catch can.
What that? I'm sorry not familiar lol :what:

And I've been thinking of getting it supercharged but its so much money and power. Cause You know with great power comes great responsibilities lol
MM.Junior. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 06:12 PM   #23
 
myrodr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 16
Casino cash: $4624200
0.01 per day
Default

if you want stock look for your oil gauge you can put the face off the stock gauge. that's what did looks stock but work for true oil psi.
myrodr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 09:50 PM   #24
 
MM.Junior.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 278
Casino cash: $5136600
0.10 per day
Default

Has anyone tried this or....no?^^
MM.Junior. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 07:28 AM   #25
 
Burt Ragio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 77
Casino cash: $4639100
0.03 per day
Default

This info was taken from Pro Weld.
With very few exceptions, almost every used 4-Valve head suffers from extreme carbon build-up under the valve head and up the neck. This build-up robs more power from your engine than any other single problem I can think of. More than poor timing, a weak fuel system, bad O2 sensors or even a out of calibration mass air sensor. This excess build-up is the equivalent of a plugged air filter and valves that only open 2/3's the normal rate !.!.! If you have a 4.6L 4-Valve and the performance just seems to have gone away, then you most likely have extreme carbon build-up. The supercharged engines were the worse, the combination of low miles driven, too many people that like to hear that big blower, and excess oil mist from the valve covers that were not filtered all helped to create the problem. In really bad instances, mainly worn engines, the oil mist (blow-by) can actually clog the small passages in the inter-cooler which sits below the blower and further starve the engine for air,
Long story short a catch can will filter most blow by that can lead to this problem s/c or not.
Burt Ragio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts