Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > TCG Technical > GM Tech & Discussion

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2019, 09:49 AM   #1
Forum Sponsor
 
daturbosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora
Posts: 11,533
Casino cash: $50129918
2.77 per day
Default GM cluster repair

whos done it? anyone? how bad is it to do?

sure i can spend $80-$100 and get it done. but fuck it. ill buy the $20 kit and crack a beer or 4 and do it myself.

any link to a "how-to"?

one "kit":
https://www.ebay.com/itm/7x-Stepper-...53.m1438.l2649
__________________
BY APPOINTMENT ONLY - 630.885.9333
daturbosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 10:24 AM   #2
Doing the jobs nobody wants to
 
Mr_Roboto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Joliet
Posts: 11,556
Casino cash: $2285000
4.24 per day
Default

What's the cluster doing? In my Escalade I had an issue where all the gauges would lose power. It was just a couple chip resistors I had to resolder. The LEDs aren't bad to do, I put red ones in mine. Just don't do it to the turn signals and cruise control like I did. Still need to buy a few white LEDs and fix that.
Mr_Roboto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 10:42 AM   #3
Certified Dirty 'Ole Man & GM/Holden Nutswinger
 
cmntmxr57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 9,389
Casino cash: $33005000
2.37 per day
Default

I just know peeps that do it, but I think I've read somewhere that you don't want to use a normal hot soldering tool to do it. You want the cool one.
__________________


Cool GM Products
2004 Pontiac GTO - Mods? Yes.
2006 Cadillac STS-V - Mods? Yes.
2009 Pontiac G8 GT - Mods? Yes.
2009 Chevrolet Impala SS - Stock
1999 Chevrolet Suburban - Plow beast

Shitty Chrysler Products
2015 Chrysler Town & Country Limited Platinum Stow-N-Go owns all
2007 Chrysler Town & Country Limited Stow-N-Go owns all
cmntmxr57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 10:58 AM   #4
FBMM
 
IceCreamAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cary
Posts: 6,533
Casino cash: $33224500
2.11 per day
Default

I wanted to try it on our gmc at work, but they decided to just send it out. Let me know how bad it is.
__________________
85 Square body 454 3spd

91 Skyline GTR DATPSSH
IceCreamAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 02:27 PM   #5
Forum Sponsor
 
daturbosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora
Posts: 11,533
Casino cash: $50129918
2.77 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Roboto View Post
What's the cluster doing? In my Escalade I had an issue where all the gauges would lose power. It was just a couple chip resistors I had to resolder. The LEDs aren't bad to do, I put red ones in mine. Just don't do it to the turn signals and cruise control like I did. Still need to buy a few white LEDs and fix that.
my indicators all seem to work.

speedo & tach work

fuel, oil, temp, battery, & trans do not
daturbosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 02:38 PM   #6
Doing the jobs nobody wants to
 
Mr_Roboto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Joliet
Posts: 11,556
Casino cash: $2285000
4.24 per day
Default

yeah if it's just single gauges constantly you're probably on the right track. In my case the whole dash went out.
Mr_Roboto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 11:11 AM   #7
Forum Sponsor
 
daturbosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora
Posts: 11,533
Casino cash: $50129918
2.77 per day
Default

i fucked it all up.

bought a stepper motor kit off amazon and pulled the cluster yesterday morning to do them all. pretty easy. but , now the tach doesnt work, and all the gauges that didnt work previously now work, but read all wonky.

ill just have to suck it up and make the drive to cicero after all, fuck.
daturbosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 01:17 PM   #8
 
HILROD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ELGIN
Posts: 1,429
Casino cash: $13811450
0.33 per day
Default

You need to plug the cluster in with the lens off. Then you can turn the ignition on and let the dash cycle. It's easiest to do when the vehicle is cold and reset the needles to zero. I do it lightly as they can be hard to get off. Sadly my own speedo is off and have been too lazy to ever fix it.
HILROD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 01:28 PM   #9
Forum Sponsor
 
daturbosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora
Posts: 11,533
Casino cash: $50129918
2.77 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HILROD View Post
You need to plug the cluster in with the lens off. Then you can turn the ignition on and let the dash cycle. It's easiest to do when the vehicle is cold and reset the needles to zero. I do it lightly as they can be hard to get off. Sadly my own speedo is off and have been too lazy to ever fix it.
yup. did that. tach still took a shit and i dont have any more stepper motors or the patients to play with the alignment of the others.
daturbosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 01:42 PM   #10
 
HILROD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ELGIN
Posts: 1,429
Casino cash: $13811450
0.33 per day
Default

The place I have used in Addison won't fix customer messed with clusters, I bought a truck that was previously messed with and he said flat out no. Had to pick up a junk yard core to do.
HILROD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts