Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > TCG Technical > GM Tech & Discussion

User Tag List

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By HILROD

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2017, 10:16 AM   #1
Doing the jobs nobody wants to
 
Mr_Roboto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Joliet
Posts: 11,535
Casino cash: $2050000
4.24 per day
Default 03 Escalade parasitic battery drain

Anyone had this problem? I have a new ignition switch, battery is new and I resoldered the BCM connections. I can't get the damn thing to start after say 3ish days. I'm about to put a battery disconnect on it. Any thoughts where to check?

Thanks
Mr_Roboto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 10:21 AM   #2
Certified Dirty 'Ole Man & GM/Holden Nutswinger
 
cmntmxr57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 9,354
Casino cash: $32615000
2.36 per day
Default

There was a recall for certain model GM trucks and SUV's, of which I believe your Escalade applies to, specifically addressing battery drain. Look up #02066 I believe.

The source is the steering wheel position sensor won't allow the BCM to shut off once you turn the key off.

The fix is to recalibrate the BCM.
__________________


Cool GM Products
2004 Pontiac GTO - Mods? Yes.
2006 Cadillac STS-V - Mods? Yes.
2009 Pontiac G8 GT - Mods? Yes.
2009 Chevrolet Impala SS - Stock
1999 Chevrolet Suburban - Plow beast

Shitty Chrysler Products
2015 Chrysler Town & Country Limited Platinum Stow-N-Go owns all
2007 Chrysler Town & Country Limited Stow-N-Go owns all
cmntmxr57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 10:23 AM   #3
Certified Dirty 'Ole Man & GM/Holden Nutswinger
 
cmntmxr57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 9,354
Casino cash: $32615000
2.36 per day
Default

Here, found it on GM-Trucks.com

2003 Battery Drain Recall for certain models - 1999-2006 & 2007-2013 Chevrolet Silverado & GMC Sierra 1500 - GM-Trucks.com
cmntmxr57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 10:27 AM   #4
Doing the jobs nobody wants to
 
Mr_Roboto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Joliet
Posts: 11,535
Casino cash: $2050000
4.24 per day
Default

I've been thinking about calling up on that, supposedly I'm outside of the serial # range for it though. With GM, I don't think that means squat though. :
Mr_Roboto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 10:31 AM   #5
Certified Dirty 'Ole Man & GM/Holden Nutswinger
 
cmntmxr57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 9,354
Casino cash: $32615000
2.36 per day
Default

Doesn't hurt to try. Those ranges are just the known, high probability units affected. That doesn't mean yours outside of that can't exhibit the fault. It seems clearly the case that it is.
cmntmxr57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 10:47 AM   #6
Doing the jobs nobody wants to
 
Mr_Roboto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Joliet
Posts: 11,535
Casino cash: $2050000
4.24 per day
Default

Yeah, called up and checked they said it was not affected. That said it's GM so it probably is still affected. Anyone done one of these sensors? Pain in the jimmy?
Mr_Roboto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 11:00 AM   #7
Certified Dirty 'Ole Man & GM/Holden Nutswinger
 
cmntmxr57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 9,354
Casino cash: $32615000
2.36 per day
Default

Yea, they're all a pain simply because of where it's at. But it's not the SWPS. It's something in the calibration.

Did you call a dealership? Or GM customer service?

I would take it in to a GM dealer, you don't need to take it to a Caddy dealer, matter of fact, I would take it to a Chevy one, because they probably faced this the most and are familiar with these exact symptoms. Express that you understand your VIN isn't in the range, but that it's doing exactly what this recall is addressing. If it fixes it, they can work the system to get it fixed under the recall. It's not like parts need to be replaced. It's just connecting a T2 (or now MDI I suppose) between the vehicle and tech terminal and downloading the latest calibration.
cmntmxr57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 11:17 AM   #8
 
Intel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Palatine
Posts: 4,713
Casino cash: $32542525
1.33 per day
Default

What is the draw on the vehicle right now when turned off? Should be an easy thing to check with a multimeter.
Intel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 11:40 AM   #9
Certified Dirty 'Ole Man & GM/Holden Nutswinger
 
cmntmxr57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 9,354
Casino cash: $32615000
2.36 per day
Default

If it's around 3.5amp, it seems pretty clear cut to me.
cmntmxr57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 02:34 PM   #10
Doing the jobs nobody wants to
 
Mr_Roboto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Joliet
Posts: 11,535
Casino cash: $2050000
4.24 per day
Default

The weird thing about it to me is that it's intermittent. I have had an ammeter hooked into it before, and It would go up to 3-3.5A and but drop back down again after a few moments. It may be going back up again after a while but I let it sit for several minutes without seeing it draw current.
Mr_Roboto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 06:02 PM   #11
Doing the jobs nobody wants to
 
Mr_Roboto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Joliet
Posts: 11,535
Casino cash: $2050000
4.24 per day
Default

Update on this. It was the fucking amplifier. Anyone know of a repair service for these?
Mr_Roboto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 06:26 PM   #12
 
HILROD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ELGIN
Posts: 1,426
Casino cash: $13761450
0.33 per day
Default

I found a local place online that does GM radios don't remember who tho. I would just put a relay on the amp power so it's off when it's not running. That said I have an Express van at work that does that every so often. Radio delay stays on forever.
Mr_Roboto likes this.
HILROD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 10:34 PM   #13
Doing the jobs nobody wants to
 
Mr_Roboto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Joliet
Posts: 11,535
Casino cash: $2050000
4.24 per day
Default

I stand corrected on this, it was the CD changer turning on the amp. Just disconnected the CD player and the drain went away. All well, just can only use one CD at a time.
Mr_Roboto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts