User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2007, 08:28 PM   #1
390HP-MD's Avatar  
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
 
390HP-MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Casino cash: $4610000
0.01 per day
Default Wheel Studs---HELP

I just purchased these: http://steeda.com/products/racing_wheel_studs.php

I just ordered them for the rear. The guy from Steeda said I would have to enlarge the openings slightly with a 39/64" drill bit. Sounds easy enough... BUT, nobody has even heard of this size!!! Home Depot, Menards, ACE... tried them all... no luck. Has anyone installed these before? Ihave my car on stands!

Give me a call if you have an answer in the next couple of minutes... I'll be in the garage! 312-217-4932

Thanks!
Manny
390HP-MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 12:15 AM   #2
rdsnake's Avatar
formerly RD SNAKE
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,532
formerly RD SNAKE
 
rdsnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,532
Casino cash: $18372200
1.12 per day
Default

Yeah, I installed APR 3 inchers awhile back, Went thur 15 studs, 20 lug nuts and a crap load of washers...Next time i'm pulling the hub off and having them pressed in like I should have

Good Speed...

Kevin
__________________
2015 GMC Denali Druamax
-Delete and tuned

2016 Polaris RZR turbo

2017 Civic Touring
rdsnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 12:40 AM   #3
Mr. Unknown's Avatar  
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 0
 
Mr. Unknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 0
Casino cash: $4611500
0 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RD SNAKE
They I installed APR 3 inchers awhile back, Went thur 15 studs, 20 lug nuts and a crap load of washers...Next time i'm pulling the hub off and having them pressed in like I should have

Good Speed...

Kevin


Mr. Unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 05:43 PM   #4
rdsnake's Avatar
formerly RD SNAKE
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,532
formerly RD SNAKE
 
rdsnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,532
Casino cash: $18372200
1.12 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CobraChris08

Fixed it...fuckin D Bag...
rdsnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 09:28 PM   #5
Mystic Terminator's Avatar  
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,150
 
Mystic Terminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,150
Casino cash: $4616200
0.58 per day
Default

Using the ARP you don't need to drill out the rear. But you have to drill out the front hubs.
__________________
~Vince
Mystic Terminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 07:55 AM   #6
Shane97Cobra's Avatar  
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 963
 
Shane97Cobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 963
Casino cash: $4725300
0.18 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystic Terminator
Using the ARP you don't need to drill out the rear. But you have to drill out the front hubs.
Baer used to carry a long stud for the front hub. They were $75 for 10 though.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 390HP-MD
I just purchased these: http://steeda.com/products/racing_wheel_studs.php

I just ordered them for the rear. The guy from Steeda said I would have to enlarge the openings slightly with a 39/64" drill bit. Sounds easy enough... BUT, nobody has even heard of this size!!! Home Depot, Menards, ACE... tried them all... no luck. Has anyone installed these before? Ihave my car on stands!

Give me a call if you have an answer in the next couple of minutes... I'll be in the garage! 312-217-4932

Thanks!
Manny
The size does exsit but it is rare and expensive. You will have to call Snapon or another high end tool company to find it.
__________________
2003 Cobra
Shane97Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 08:06 PM   #7
Mystic Terminator's Avatar  
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,150
 
Mystic Terminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,150
Casino cash: $4616200
0.58 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane97Cobra View Post
Baer used to carry a long stud for the front hub. They were $75 for 10 though.




The size does exsit but it is rare and expensive. You will have to call Snapon or another high end tool company to find it.
Go to MSC and get 39/64" reamer. Don't use a drill bit.

http://www1.mscdirect.com/CGI/NNSRIT?PMAKA=02310399

Then get the ARP studs for $12.95/5 ARP-100-7703

http://store.summitracing.com/partde...0&autoview=sku

You can use the same studs for front and rear. Only the front hubs need to be reamed to .609" (39/64")
Mystic Terminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 07:23 PM   #8
390HP-MD's Avatar  
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
 
390HP-MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Casino cash: $4610000
0.01 per day
Default

Thanks for the input fellas... BUT, this is getting a little more complicated, & extremely frustrating. The reason i bought the studs was because a week ago i felt the car wobble from side to side... i pulled over & the wheel was hanging on from ONE stug/lug. I did a bunch of searches on here & SVTP & figured it was a bad spacer or lack of thread with the lug/studs. So i bought:

New tires (Wasn't happy with the Sumitomos anyway)
New Studs (as mentioned)
New Spacers (LFP 3/8 Hubcentric)
New Lug Nuts (McGard)

I haven't installed the new studs but i did buy some stock ones from Murrays to see if the wobble would go away... NOPE... still there. This was with the new tires & new spacers. Could the wheel itself be bad... defective maybe? I noticed a couple of the holes on them (from the back) looked pretty bad... figured it was from the studs breaking. So what now? I have no experience at all with any of this & i'd rather not take it in quite yet w/out knowing what i'm getting myself into. Sorry for the long post... i just wanna get bak on the road. I appreciate all the input you guys can share.

Thanks,

Manny
390HP-MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 08:09 PM   #9
03mineralg's Avatar
03mineralg
 
Posts: n/a
03mineralg
 
03mineralg's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Casino cash: $
0 per day
Default

Manny, sorry to hear about the problem. I drove it for a couple years with that setup and felt no wobble. Did you have the wheels off for any reason and not tighten the lugs enough or recheck them? I know there wasnt much thread left with the spacers on but i did order the extended tip lugs that gave a little more grip (supposedly). FYI, those spacers were purely cosmetic and you dont have to run them. You may have bent the wheels if it still wobbles, they are afs 17x10.5 chrome cobra r's. They have an ebay store and price them good. Your cheapest solution would be replace the lugs with standard lugs and ditch the spacer. Paul.
  Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 08:45 PM   #10
390HP-MD's Avatar  
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
 
390HP-MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Casino cash: $4610000
0.01 per day
Default

Hey Paul,

Yeah, it sucks... but with everyones help I'll get to the bottom of this. From what i've read here I think i have to run some kind of spacer with the 315s, due to the IRS bolt... even if it's shaved. I have the MM "low profile IRS bolts" but i think it'll still rub w/out the spacers. I'm gonna try switching the wheels around & see if it still wobbles from the other side... the process of elimination. Thanks Paul.

Manny
390HP-MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 10:14 PM   #11
03mineralg's Avatar
03mineralg
 
Posts: n/a
03mineralg
 
03mineralg's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Casino cash: $
0 per day
Default

It depends on what brand 315 you are running. The summies that were on cleared the stock bolt without the spacers, i just had the spacers on to pull the tire out more for looks. If you replaced them with BF's or Goodyears youll need a spacer, any other brand check the fit you may not need them. Any questions you cant find answer's to always pm Dan (DANA) or any of the guy's at LDC.
  Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 10:27 PM   #12
390HP-MD's Avatar  
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
 
390HP-MD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Casino cash: $4610000
0.01 per day
Default

Thanks Paul... i'll check that out first thing tomorrow morning. The spacers do make it look better though!
390HP-MD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 11:56 AM   #13
Dewalt03cobra's Avatar
Dewalt03Cobra
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 293
Dewalt03Cobra
 
Dewalt03cobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 293
Casino cash: $4610000
0.05 per day
Default

I bought ARP studs, and made a press that I could use while everything was still on the car. I works really Good. For some reason I can't seem to post a picture of it. But I could email a picture if you want.

This link seems to work.
http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s...a/IMG_1652.jpg
Dewalt03cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2007, 03:02 PM   #14
ShelbyGuy's Avatar
Turgid Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,231
Turgid Member
 
ShelbyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,231
Casino cash: $4610000
0.93 per day
Default

Jack up under the control arm and see if you can wiggle the wheel&tire assembly. It is quite possible the hub&bearing are shot, if you still have the wiggle. A loose axle nut (got dss?) will also make the back end wiggle, as will slop in the toe link rod.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 390HP-MD View Post
Thanks Paul... i'll check that out first thing tomorrow morning. The spacers do make it look better though!
__________________
schnauzer power
ShelbyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts