User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2007, 02:18 PM   #1
Mr. Unknown's Avatar  
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 0
 
Mr. Unknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 0
Casino cash: $4611500
0 per day
Default 110 leaded and O2 sensors

I've been hearing mixed things about this. My car was tuned on 110 leaded. I've heard it will mess up the o2 sensors? What are your opinions?
Mr. Unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 02:32 PM   #2
Aron's Avatar
Scared pussy
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 13,969
Scared pussy
 
Aron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 13,969
Casino cash: $10083500
2.74 per day
Default

Leaded fuel will over time clog your catalytic convertors (if you even have them) as well as your O2 sensors.

If you're tuned for 110, you'll have to use something with a similar octane rating in unleaded.
__________________
94 Camaro Z28...all stock slow turd
04 CompG...4T65E problems
2018 Yamaha MT10
Aron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 03:17 PM   #3
JA$ON's Avatar
ching chong potato
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17,332
ching chong potato
 
JA$ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17,332
Casino cash: $4746400
3.17 per day
Default

Ive run leaded 110 all last season when spraying and this year on my high boost tune. I've never had any issues with it. I dont run any cats and havent had to replace my O2 sensors yet, car was easy to tune and is reliable. If I need to change 2 sensors every year to run this gas, I will. Its worth it to me to have plenty of octane, plus its not too hard to find and its only like $5.50/gallon.
__________________
1990 MEGATRON

JA$ON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 04:17 PM   #4
Aron's Avatar
Scared pussy
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 13,969
Scared pussy
 
Aron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 13,969
Casino cash: $10083500
2.74 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by firstsvt
Ive run leaded 110 all last season when spraying and this year on my high boost tune. I've never had any issues with it. I dont run any cats and havent had to replace my O2 sensors yet, car was easy to tune and is reliable. If I need to change 2 sensors every year to run this gas, I will. Its worth it to me to have plenty of octane, plus its not too hard to find and its only like $5.50/gallon.
Notice I said "over time". It could take quite some time, but the lead does leave deposits, which will throw your O2 readings off.

If you really need it, why not get a 55 gallon drum of unleaded? It would probably end up being cheaper anyway.
Aron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 04:21 PM   #5
Mr. Unknown's Avatar  
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 0
 
Mr. Unknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 0
Casino cash: $4611500
0 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by firstsvt
Ive run leaded 110 all last season when spraying and this year on my high boost tune. I've never had any issues with it. I dont run any cats and havent had to replace my O2 sensors yet, car was easy to tune and is reliable. If I need to change 2 sensors every year to run this gas, I will. Its worth it to me to have plenty of octane, plus its not too hard to find and its only like $5.50/gallon.

Is your car a track only or weekend car? It would obviously take more time if it were a track only car.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aron
Notice I said "over time". It could take quite some time, but the lead does leave deposits, which will throw your O2 readings off.

If you really need it, why not get a 55 gallon drum of unleaded? It would probably end up being cheaper anyway.

True

Who's got the hook up?
Mr. Unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 04:32 PM   #6
Aron's Avatar
Scared pussy
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 13,969
Scared pussy
 
Aron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 13,969
Casino cash: $10083500
2.74 per day
Default

I thought that Rockett and either Torco or VP made 110 unleaded, but I guess not. After doing some searching, I couldn't find anything unleaded over 104.
Aron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 05:34 PM   #7
Mr. Unknown's Avatar  
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 0
 
Mr. Unknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 0
Casino cash: $4611500
0 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aron
I thought that Rockett and either Torco or VP made 110 unleaded, but I guess not. After doing some searching, I couldn't find anything unleaded over 104.

I was told that torco is only good if you use it right away. It doesn't do well if it sits for a little while. Right now i'm running Sunoco 110 Leaded.
Mr. Unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 11:12 PM   #8
skyhighsd's Avatar
auto mofo
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11,559
auto mofo
 
skyhighsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11,559
Casino cash: $4611300
2.55 per day
Default

Yes it will clog your 02 senor after awhile and when that happens the senor will cause you to lose power and after awhile it will not run, until you change the sensor. A friend of mine with a GN has to change his out after a few weeks of driving it. If you don't mind changing the sensor once and a while its not really any problem.
By the way you might want to think about the 55 gallons alittle more. That much gas in the garage. Racing gas is to unstable to have that much in your garage. IMO Its like having a bomb that is just waiting to go off.
skyhighsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 11:16 PM   #9
slow4.6's Avatar  
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,112
 
slow4.6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,112
Casino cash: $4834300
0.23 per day
Default

i used about 2 tanks of it and i had to replace the 2 front 02's.. that shit was white and caked on
__________________
$Jason$
15 Subaru WRX
96 GT- 13'Coyote
98 GT- 3v




slow4.6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 01:15 AM   #10
Mr. Unknown's Avatar  
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 0
 
Mr. Unknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 0
Casino cash: $4611500
0 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skyhighsd
Yes it will clog your 02 senor after awhile and when that happens the senor will cause you to lose power and after awhile it will not run, until you change the sensor. A friend of mine with a GN has to change his out after a few weeks of driving it. If you don't mind changing the sensor once and a while its not really any problem.
By the way you might want to think about the 55 gallons alittle more. That much gas in the garage. Racing gas is to unstable to have that much in your garage. IMO Its like having a bomb that is just waiting to go off.


i thought higher octane meant better for storing because it would take more to let it loose?
Mr. Unknown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 11:04 PM   #11
skyhighsd's Avatar
auto mofo
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11,559
auto mofo
 
skyhighsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11,559
Casino cash: $4611300
2.55 per day
Default

If you mean explode as far as let loose? That may be true, but think of the flash point of gas. That is not something that I would be willing to gamble with a garage full of toys. And all of the headaches of a insurance claim if you garage was to explode, its just something to think about.
skyhighsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 09:29 AM   #12
Boost12's Avatar
Boost12
 
Posts: n/a
Boost12
 
Boost12's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Casino cash: $
0 per day
Default

I ran leaded Fuel all season last year. I burnt of the Ford o2s the first week and then I put in some Autozone sensors and they lasted me well over a year and never gave me any trouble and I ran nothing but leaded fuel

I dont have any O2s in the car now otherwise they would still be in there cranking along im sure

Woop for Autozone! Not to mention they are half the price
  Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 09:33 AM   #13
JA$ON's Avatar
ching chong potato
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17,332
ching chong potato
 
JA$ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17,332
Casino cash: $4746400
3.17 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boost12
Woop for Autozone! Not to mention they are half the price
What did they cost at autozone? It may be time for me to replace mine, I havent replaced them yet since I started to run leaded fuel
JA$ON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 09:34 AM   #14
Bigturbonotch's Avatar
WAIT AND SEE
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34,684
WAIT AND SEE
 
Bigturbonotch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 34,684
Casino cash: $7743800
6.51 per day
Default

they are bosch brand and were like $40 a piece if I remember correctly
__________________
1993 MUSTANG COUPE
Bigturbonotch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 09:36 AM   #15
Boost12's Avatar
Boost12
 
Posts: n/a
Boost12
 
Boost12's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Casino cash: $
0 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by firstsvt
What did they cost at autozone? It may be time for me to replace mine, I havent replaced them yet since I started to run leaded fuel
I thought They were like 40 sumthing per o2
  Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 09:36 AM   #16
Boost12's Avatar
Boost12
 
Posts: n/a
Boost12
 
Boost12's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Casino cash: $
0 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Box 1
they are bosch brand and were like $40 a piece if I remember correctly
WORD!
  Edit/Delete Message Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts