• đź’ˇ Fun fact. Whenever you start a thread, TCG Mechanic 5000 (our AI bot) will reply to you to start helping. It doesn't know everything and it will struggle with more complex questions but it can get the thread going and provide valuable information. You can choose to disable it prior to submitting a thread.

new 03-04 cobra shortblock from FRPP

ChicagoMike

TCG Elite Member
Mar 4, 2004
Discuss

shortblock03cobra.jpg

Kegger

Addict
Jun 23, 2005
I saw that thing up close and personal. It was on Ken Gushi's Mustang (Formula Drift Series). He had a Whipple on top.....he didn't know what psi his tech's are running, he only knows that it laid down over 600 rwhp. He did say they went with this aluminum shortblock because it had a tremendous amount of weight savings associated with it. How can an aluminum block hold together for a long time, on a boosted motor?

Kegger

Addict
Jun 23, 2005
I'm by no means an expert in this subject at all. I just have common sense logic that says "iron is stronger than aluminum". If you say there is a way to make aluminum stronger than iron.....why don't more manufacturers do this? Every high boosted motor I know of has an iron block. :dunno:

ShelbyGuy

Turgid Member
Mar 26, 2004
aluminum is cheaper in short runs and small batches. iron is cheaper in large production runs. it takes a huuuuuuuuge amount of electricity to turn bauxite into aluminum.

Kegger said:
I'm by no means an expert in this subject at all. I just have common sense logic that says "iron is stronger than aluminum". If you say there is a way to make aluminum stronger than iron.....why don't more manufacturers do this? Every high boosted motor I know of has an iron block. :dunno: