Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > TCG Technical > The Blue Oval

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2012, 03:42 PM   #1
 
Marko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16,375
Casino cash: $78513175
3.11 per day
Default Bad Gas Mileage

I'm getting like 14 mpg. With no WOT throttle runs. Just cruising highway and city.

My mods are only 2.76 pulley, idlers, JLT Budget HP kit, tr6 plugs and a catback exhaust and a dyno tune from 7 years ago.

I switched my CAI from a K&N FIPK to the JLT. Could changing that give me worse gas mileage.

Now, I don't know for sure what my mpg was before the JLT but my I'm filling up alot more often.
Marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 03:44 PM   #2
 
Mook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elgin
Posts: 160,003
Casino cash: $92685000
36.03 per day
Default

How old is the fuel filter? Thats worth changing. Have you been running your air alot lately? That could be giving it a bit worse... But not likely the kind of drop youre seeing.

I see 17 under city driving and around 20 highway. So something is definitely off on yours.
__________________
- TCG Owner & Operator -
Mook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 03:45 PM   #3
 
Mook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elgin
Posts: 160,003
Casino cash: $92685000
36.03 per day
Default

Its always possible your tune can need a refresher.
Mook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 03:53 PM   #4
 
Marko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16,375
Casino cash: $78513175
3.11 per day
Default

Thanks. I had my Ford dealer change the fuel filter 500 miles ago and I never run the A/C. I would like to get a retune.
Marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 03:54 PM   #5
 
serb82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,075
Casino cash: $5451400
0.28 per day
Default

Do you have a wide band installed in your car? You could have thrown off your air fuel ratio by moving the maf sensor to a different spot or a different clock position in the tube. I know on my saleen when I took the maf out to clean it, I changed the position and made it run richer, turned it back a little bit and got back to where it was tuned at.
serb82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 03:58 PM   #6
 
Marko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16,375
Casino cash: $78513175
3.11 per day
Default

I put the Maf sensor in the same location. 12 O clock. It was like that on the K&N before and after the tune.

My tr6 plugs only have 3300 miles on them I was thinking about changing them.
Marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 03:58 PM   #7
 
Marko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16,375
Casino cash: $78513175
3.11 per day
Default

No. I don't have a wideband.


Do I need a bung welded into my stock H-pipe for that or no ?
Marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 04:07 PM   #8
 
serb82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,075
Casino cash: $5451400
0.28 per day
Default

Yeah you would need one welded or you can cheat and plug it into a rear o2 spot if you don't have cats but it's not 100% accurate but to just get an idea were the car is running at.
serb82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 04:14 PM   #9
 
Marko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16,375
Casino cash: $78513175
3.11 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serb82 View Post
Yeah you would need one welded or you can cheat and plug it into a rear o2 spot if you don't have cats but it's not 100% accurate but to just get an idea were the car is running at.
thanks. i wonder if one or both of my O2 sensors are taking a shit??


i'm getting no trouble codes. I even checked today with my Xcal 2.

Should I return my tune back to stock and drive it around carefully (no boost) to see if it will trigger a trouble code??
Marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 04:21 PM   #10
 
serb82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,075
Casino cash: $5451400
0.28 per day
Default

I would try putting back your old cai kit and drive it for a week and see if anything changes,stock tune and that pulley I would trust never know when you might step on it, in my opinion I would get a wideband or retune, the rear o2 only read how the cat is doing, the front 02 are what actually adjust your af ratio. You might also have bad gas or has it been many tanks?
serb82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 04:33 PM   #11
 
Marko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16,375
Casino cash: $78513175
3.11 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serb82 View Post
I would try putting back your old cai kit and drive it for a week and see if anything changes,stock tune and that pulley I would trust never know when you might step on it, in my opinion I would get a wideband or retune, the rear o2 only read how the cat is doing, the front 02 are what actually adjust your af ratio. You might also have bad gas or has it been many tanks?
Thanks for the advice. Yes, it's been several tanks now since i've been checking my MPG....
Marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 05:45 PM   #12
 
Marko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16,375
Casino cash: $78513175
3.11 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serb82 View Post
Yeah you would need one welded or you can cheat and plug it into a rear o2 spot if you don't have cats but it's not 100% accurate but to just get an idea were the car is running at.
Just wondering,

How does my car get tuned without the bung welded in? Like having the A/F adjusted correctly. I had it tuned by Sutton 7 years ago. I have the stock H pipe with cats..,.
Marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 05:51 PM   #13
Scared pussy
 
Aron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 13,962
Casino cash: $10003500
2.75 per day
Default

They clamp the wideband into the tailpipe
__________________
94 Camaro Z28...all stock slow turd
04 CompG...4T65E problems
2018 Yamaha MT10
Aron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts