re-wiring the entire car. how much?

Racinhobos

Apr 4, 2008
Well, some of you read that I have had my car looked at by a competent mechanic and he has declared the wiring unfit to drive (he doesnt see how the car didn't catch on fire). He said the PO wired in the MSD after market ignition, but never unhooked the OEM ignition, so everything was doubled.

In any case, he says to make the car safe to drive he would have to tear out the entire wiring system and run all new wire.

Does anyone have an idea of what this would cost, I am just wondering, because I have never used this mechanic before but he came HIGHLY recommended by 5+ ppl that he does regular work for them on their 70's hot rods. I just want a base-line to consider when he lets me know.

Any help would be appreciated.

SVTLSC

Factory Freak
Oct 29, 2006
well depending on the route you go i know painless shit isnt cheap but when ging used you need to be careful because of age but depending on which harness (im guessing engine) its prob ably a 6-10 hour job depending on skill and how its done (hack or perfect) if its done right its worth a grand or more in labor. Ive done a few where the customer put too big of a fuse since the 10a blew he put a 35 and fried the shit out of his body harness. I think is bill was a bit over a grand

Ear Rak

Underemployed
Nov 11, 2005
Fort Worth, TX
well depending on the route you go i know painless shit isnt cheap but when ging used you need to be careful because of age but depending on which harness (im guessing engine) its prob ably a 6-10 hour job depending on skill and how its done (hack or perfect) if its done right its worth a grand or more in labor. Ive done a few where the customer put too big of a fuse since the 10a blew he put a 35 and fried the shit out of his body harness. I think is bill was a bit over a grand

that was probably a newer car though, he's talkin about an 85 gt with a carb.

Racinhobos

Apr 4, 2008