Everything you ever wanted to know about auto dimming rear view mirrors

RareGMFan

Addict
Jan 12, 2008
Naperville, IL
Seeing as to how I'm frequently asked about information on self-dimming mirrors, I thought it would be a good idea to start an informative thread outlining how the mirrors work, the different brands and kinds there are, the pros and cons to those different kinds, as well as basic removal and installation instructions. My goal is to make this as thorough as I can, but if you still have some questions I didn't go over, please feel free to ask. I'm not an expert by any means, but I've been fascinated by these mirrors ever since I discovered them 10+ years ago, so I have gathered a decent amount of information about them. Forgive the quality of the pictures. I will update this post when I get a better camera and more ideal lighting.

Quick History & Background

Auto-dimming mirrors are nothing new by any means. The electrochromic technology used to make today's mirrors has been around since the '40s, and has been in use in automotive mirrors since the '80s. The concept of an auto-dimming mirror was first introduced by the Zeeland, Michigan based electro-optical products manufacturer Gentex Corporation. They created the world's first electromechanical mirror in 1982, which found its way into higher end American luxury cars as an option in 1983. It used sensors to detect glare from behind. The sensors were connected to a small motor that would move the angle of the mirror to adjust accordingly. In other words, it basically acted as an automatic version of the flip tab on standard mirrors. These mirrors would be available through '91.