Car Broke Down. What Now?

Atomicles

TCG Elite Member
Jan 26, 2008
Schaumburg
I'm new to this section of the forums. I hope I posted this in the right place.

My 2002 Dodge Intrepid is broke down. The timing belt broke, and it's going to cost 2-3k+ to repair everything. I've decided not to repair it, and to just get a new car. However... this was my first car. I've never had to dispose of a car before. I was hoping TCG might be able to me figure out what to do.

Right now it's sitting at a Firestone about 2 blocks from my house. I've asked them to hold onto it for the day until I figure out what to do. Do I try and donate it? Should I sell it to a junk yard? Is there some other option(s) I'm not thinking of?

Thanks,
Aaron

Dasfinc

Ready for the EVlution
Sep 28, 2007
Wheaton, IL
As already mentioned, you should just unload it. The Chrysler 2.7 and 3.5 motors are VERY hard to find in running condition from a junkyard (and if you do, and the yard KNOWS what it is, they will charge you up the ass for it, I've looked in the past, $1000-1500 normally)

Cityautowreckers would give you $50-100 for it, and they will even come tow it away. I don't know if you can donate a non-runner?

Find your Title asap as well.

Atomicles

TCG Elite Member
Jan 26, 2008
Schaumburg
I don't remember exactly. It was the belt and two other things. They said they'd have to order two of them, and that would take about 2 weeks for delivery. That alone was going to be a little over 2k. Then they said they needed those parts to see if there was any engine damage. And if that was damaged, it would cost even more. I'm sorry... I was just a little in shock at the price that I didn't even write down the parts :(

Dasfinc

Ready for the EVlution
Sep 28, 2007
Wheaton, IL
But seriously I bet someone out there would buy it to fix up themselves either to drive or flip.