Diesel truck for daily driving

NetChemica

Let me see your crack!
May 23, 2007
Anyone here daily drive a Powerstroke/Duramax/Cummins on a daily basis?

I've been thinking of picking one up since diesel is becoming more available. My main concerns are reliability and cost of maintenance/repair.

I'm not an expert on diesel engines, but I'm familiar with how they work, and I'm sure I wouldn't have a problem performing my own maintenance and repair. The only thing I'd be worried about is the cost of parts.

You guys have any input?

Yaj Yak

Gladys
TCG Premium
May 24, 2007
Niche score of 2,363
It seems that all of the trucks have their quirks... late model 7.3s in good condition are becoming harder and harder to find- with that being said- the 7.3 of course is a brick shit house.... but be prepared for little shit to nickle and dime you to death- mainly front end parts- Ford truck's for the most part have little shit just plague their front ends... 7.3s dont like to be quick. seems to me to be one of the hardest newer diesels to go quick.

6.0s are meh- get a good one- might get a bad one- if i were to get one- I would get a newer one- delete the egr- run head studs- throw a tuner on it and go mid 13s. they sound worse than they are it seems...

6.4s are neat... really strong trany's... and a tune and they are fucking rocket ships... take 200+hp tunes- go low 13s... bam. fucking awesome.

gm's- early duramax's- lb7's 01-04.5- like to eat injectors- and they are a bitch- under the valvecover- need a special tool to get em out- and all injector warranties iirc are basically expired now as well. if getting them fixed somewhere- seems to be 2-4k$ job... (they crack, leak fuel into crank case... yadda... or other stuff) can be made quite quick- pretty easily- 5 speed allison tho- anything more than a 70-90 hp tune- trans doesnt like it.