User Tag List

Like Tree9Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2017, 09:26 AM   #1
Alacran's Avatar
GM fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,120
GM fanatic
 
Alacran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,120
Casino cash: $5812600
0.29 per day
Default Anyone running a dash camera?

Looking at dash cameras and trying to see what tcg recommends

Nic
__________________
Alacran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 09:29 AM   #2
Grabber's Avatar
Oh Hai
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 3,613
Oh Hai
 
Grabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 3,613
Casino cash: $31190100
0.85 per day
Default

I ran a Viofo for about a year and it finally failed.

Check out Blackvue, Garmin and Thinkware. They are all high end dash cams with tons of features. Priced higher, but, in my experience with having 3 dash cam, pay more for a better, more reliable camera.
SMRTSS1 likes this.
__________________
2016 Durango R/T AWD - Billet Silver
2014 Track Pack GT - - Gone
2005 Blown 3V (Gone)
2004 CO Mach 1 (Slow as balls) (Gone)

2003 TR 10th Anni. Cobra (Gone )

Grabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 09:48 AM   #3
DanJoy's Avatar
Bruh
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora
Posts: 28,120
Bruh
 
DanJoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora
Posts: 28,120
Casino cash: $2147483647
6.29 per day
Default

I have a BlackVue DR650S 2 channel setup in my car. Image quality is good and I can pull videos off the camera using my phone and the dash cams built in wireless network. The DR750S is out now which is supposed to have even better low light images.
DanJoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 10:25 AM   #4
sickmint79's Avatar
I Drink Your Milkshake
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: grayslake
Posts: 18,408
I Drink Your Milkshake
 
sickmint79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: grayslake
Posts: 18,408
Casino cash: $113020416
4.40 per day
Default

https://tinyurl.com/y6utwt9w

i have the 650 also. i would recommend the 750. having front and rear is great as you get a much better story of what is going on around you. the sensor is better and the camera has gone from recording in 30 hz to 60 hz so the video is much smoother.
__________________
http://www.pointmeby.com

2013 BRZ
Stoptech 328mm BBK.Project Mu999.RBF 600.RCE Tarmac 2 Coils.Whiteline KCA326/KCA434/KSR210/W0509/KDT922/W63414.Velox camber plates
JDL Overpipe + Catted Front Pipe.Tomei Type-60S.Radium catch cans.245 RS4s.Koyo Radiator.STi motor+trans mounts
FXT Oil Cooler.SPC LCA.Airaid intake.Zeek snorkel.DL Type II Diffuser.ecutek flex fuel tune.Swaintech coated JDL EL Header
sickmint79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 10:31 AM   #5
DanJoy's Avatar
Bruh
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora
Posts: 28,120
Bruh
 
DanJoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora
Posts: 28,120
Casino cash: $2147483647
6.29 per day
Default

I’d recommend checking out Mass Drop if you want to buy a nice dash cam. They do group buys and I’m pretty sure i saw the DR750 on there for $275 the other day. @fastlax16 and I got our DR650’s through there for around the same price. The only downside is that sometimes shipping takes awhile because the group buy ends and then they place the order for the items. I got lucky and got mine within a week of the group buy closing but some people waited almost a month.
DanJoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 10:38 AM   #6
Dasfinc's Avatar
Mrrrrstang.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wheaton, IL
Posts: 20,476
Mrrrrstang.
 
Dasfinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wheaton, IL
Posts: 20,476
Casino cash: $46427559
4.71 per day
Default

Anker ROAV here; good reviews, often drops down to $50, decent even in low light.

TommyGloves likes this.
__________________
19 WRX STI, 13 Mustang GT Premium Vert', 03 Suburban, 99 Ranger (V8 Swap Project).
Dasfinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 11:07 AM   #7
SMRTSS1's Avatar  
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Elgin
Posts: 3,121
 
SMRTSS1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Elgin
Posts: 3,121
Casino cash: $25107800
0.89 per day
Default

I’ve been wanting a dash cam for a while now and feel I need one with how often I get cut off. From everything I’ve read the Blackvue 650 & 750 have everything one could need and the reviews are pretty good.
SMRTSS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 11:16 AM   #8
guspech750's Avatar
Guspech Superdriller
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North Aurora
Posts: 7,100
Guspech Superdriller
 
guspech750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North Aurora
Posts: 7,100
Casino cash: $35902700
2.03 per day
Default

Good thread.

I've been thinking of buying a dash camera for work. As much a I drive for work. I'd hate to loose my CDL or be accused of doing something just because I drive tractor trailers. I've seen so many people drive like complete and utter shit and they give me the finger and such. I've had people call my office and make up stories never a problem since my boss knows I'm not a lying POS. Camera would be nice to prove my innocence.
__________________
Go E.A.D.
Boost gets you laid.
guspech750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 12:35 PM   #9
cacicgtp7's Avatar
Some Military Dude
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Saint Charles, MO
Posts: 4,607
Some Military Dude
 
cacicgtp7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Saint Charles, MO
Posts: 4,607
Casino cash: $26641625
1.17 per day
Default

Iím running the Viofo A119S in both of our cars. Awesome low light and no problems thus far. They are 110 bucks a piece.
__________________
2017 Lincoln Continental 3.0T

Sold: 2003 Kawasaki ZX-6R 636 (10.9 @ 133)
2008 Kawasaki ZZR600

USAF
"Aim high Airmen."
cacicgtp7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 02:52 PM   #10
Grabber's Avatar
Oh Hai
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 3,613
Oh Hai
 
Grabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 3,613
Casino cash: $31190100
0.85 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cacicgtp7 View Post
Iím running the Viofo A119S in both of our cars. Awesome low light and no problems thus far. They are 110 bucks a piece.


Same model I had. Ran great for a while. Shape and clear picture and easy to use.

Dealt with viofo support when it failed for the 2nd time. Now I have to send it to China on my dime for a replacement.

Good camera for the price, but, after not even a year, it is not too reliable.

Hope yours stays going man.
Grabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 05:32 PM   #11
Dan00Hawk's Avatar  
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Plainfield
Posts: 1,662
 
Dan00Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Plainfield
Posts: 1,662
Casino cash: $16979651
0.54 per day
Default

I've been using an A118C for a few years, and then upgraded to a newer version. I have one in the wife's car also. It's basic, but I like the 3M mount to the windshield by the mirror, no worries about batteries as it uses a capacitor, and the quality is good enough. I used to have a rear camera, but found it was causing interference with my radio HD reception. Front camera is enough for nearly every situation aside from getting rear ended and the offender running without you being able to see their plate.

It doesn't get great reviews, but I've had no issue, and at $60, it's a good bargain. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Here's a sample from mine. You may have to change the settings on Youtube to view it in 1080:
__________________
17 GTI
00 Firehawk convertible.
17 Beetle convertible turbo

Dan00Hawk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 09:34 AM   #12
Alacran's Avatar
GM fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,120
GM fanatic
 
Alacran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,120
Casino cash: $5812600
0.29 per day
Default

Great suggestions. I am pleasantly surprised by the feedback on here.

I feel like asking has anyone spliced the power to the camera into the mirror harness?

How is everyone powering up their cameras?

TIA
Alacran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 09:40 AM   #13
DanJoy's Avatar
Bruh
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora
Posts: 28,120
Bruh
 
DanJoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora
Posts: 28,120
Casino cash: $2147483647
6.29 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alacran View Post
Great suggestions. I am pleasantly surprised by the feedback on here.

I feel like asking has anyone spliced the power to the camera into the mirror harness?

How is everyone powering up their cameras?

TIA
My blackvue is hooked up directly to the fuse panel with add a circuits. I have a switch in the glovebox called a power magic pro that lets me use it for parking mode if Iím running into a store or something. It cuts power to the camera when battery voltage dips below a certain level. To use parking mode long term you really need an external battery pack so you donít kill the cars battery.
DanJoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 11:22 AM   #14
rdsnake's Avatar
formerly RD SNAKE
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,526
formerly RD SNAKE
 
rdsnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,526
Casino cash: $18292200
1.12 per day
Default

I just installed my BlackVue DR750s - 2 Channel. I also installed the Power Magic Power. Super happy with the results. I wish I bought one of these years ago! I'm going to put on in my truck when the weather gets nicer out.

I believe I have a video from the other night going thought the car wash. Let me see if I can post.
__________________
2015 GMC Denali Druamax
-Delete and tuned

2016 Polaris RZR turbo

2017 Civic Touring
rdsnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 11:39 AM   #15
Grabber's Avatar
Oh Hai
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 3,613
Oh Hai
 
Grabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 3,613
Casino cash: $31190100
0.85 per day
Default

For those of you with the Blackvue and power magic pro, @DanJoy @rdsnake

How hard was the install? It is much cheaper than the power magic battery.

Is the dual channel worth the extra coin? I am replacing my Viofo A119S as they want me to ship it back to China and its not worth it. This time, I am going big or going home as they say. I'm currently about to buy the 750S 1-channel and later on getting the magic battery back for park mode. I don't want to hardwire as my durango has a lot of electronics and a few guys I've seen on the forums post, the electronics in the durango are super sensitive and I don't want to screw with anything.

Thanks for the input, and sorry if this is a thread derail.

-Chris
Grabber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 11:48 AM   #16
DanJoy's Avatar
Bruh
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora
Posts: 28,120
Bruh
 
DanJoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora
Posts: 28,120
Casino cash: $2147483647
6.29 per day
Default

It’s not bad really. Mine is hardwired and the wires just go under the dash and up to my glovebox where the PMP switch box is. From there they go up to the a pillar and one wire is tucked in the headliner to the front camera, and the other goes to the back along the headliner for the rear camera. The biggest pain was tucking the wires behind the side curtain airbag.
DanJoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 02:22 PM   #17
Kensington's Avatar  
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7,744
 
Kensington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7,744
Casino cash: $40246500
10.53 per day
Default

Been running the G1W-C for coming up on 4 years now. It's showing its age, and have some intermittent issues. I'm also on my 3rd microSD card, but the camera keeps on chugging. It's not the fanciest or most sophisticated, but it just works. There are plenty of videos of G1W series out there if you want to take a look. I opted for the rear view mount, which, IMO is a must. In my previous car, I ran the power off a 12V powersource in the headliner. This time around, I just ran the power cable in the headliner, down the A pillar, under the dash, and into a footwell powerpoint.
Kensington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 02:27 PM   #18
DanJoy's Avatar
Bruh
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora
Posts: 28,120
Bruh
 
DanJoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora
Posts: 28,120
Casino cash: $2147483647
6.29 per day
Default

I killed a Lexar card made for gopros and dashcams on its first rewrite. Still need to send it in for RMA.
DanJoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 02:29 PM   #19
Kensington's Avatar  
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7,744
 
Kensington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7,744
Casino cash: $40246500
10.53 per day
Default

The first Sandisk I had, I tried to RMA, and they sent it back because the fine print says dash cams are exempt from warranty. I've killed a Samsung, and am back on another Samsung now
Kensington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 02:34 PM   #20
DanJoy's Avatar
Bruh
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora
Posts: 28,120
Bruh
 
DanJoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora
Posts: 28,120
Casino cash: $2147483647
6.29 per day
Default

I read about that being a problem so I searched for one that wouldn’t pull that on me when sending in for RMA.
DanJoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 02:51 PM   #21
rdsnake's Avatar
formerly RD SNAKE
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,526
formerly RD SNAKE
 
rdsnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,526
Casino cash: $18292200
1.12 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grabber View Post
For those of you with the Blackvue and power magic pro, @DanJoy @rdsnake

How hard was the install? It is much cheaper than the power magic battery.

Is the dual channel worth the extra coin? I am replacing my Viofo A119S as they want me to ship it back to China and its not worth it. This time, I am going big or going home as they say. I'm currently about to buy the 750S 1-channel and later on getting the magic battery back for park mode. I don't want to hardwire as my durango has a lot of electronics and a few guys I've seen on the forums post, the electronics in the durango are super sensitive and I don't want to screw with anything.

Thanks for the input, and sorry if this is a thread derail.

-Chris
I think the dual cam is worth it. A lot of shit happens behind you as well. That battery is big bucks. The power magic pro was like $30.

Install was super easy but I'm a fairly seasoned mechanic. Just take your time and go slow. I hooked up all the power first without hiding any wires to test the position of cameras before I "officially" mounted them. I believe I stole power from the cig lighter (Key on +) and then the sun roof for battery hot all the time. Every car will be different so just check the owners manual.
rdsnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 02:56 PM   #22
rdsnake's Avatar
formerly RD SNAKE
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,526
formerly RD SNAKE
 
rdsnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,526
Casino cash: $18292200
1.12 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanJoy View Post
I killed a Lexar card made for gopros and dashcams on its first rewrite. Still need to send it in for RMA.
I heard those Lexar cards are junk. Everything I've read points to Transcend or Sandisk high endurance cards are the hot ticket for dash cams. Unfortunately, they only make those in 64GB. I wanted a 128 GB for my dual cam setup to record a full 11 hours on one write. Went with a Samsung EVO card. We'll see how long it last.
rdsnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 03:00 PM   #23
Kensington's Avatar  
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7,744
 
Kensington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7,744
Casino cash: $40246500
10.53 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdsnake View Post
I heard those Lexar cards are junk. Everything I've read points to Transcend or Sandisk high endurance cards are the hot ticket for dash cams. Unfortunately, they only make those in 64GB. I wanted a 128 GB for my dual cam setup to record a full 11 hours on one write. Went with a Samsung EVO card. We'll see how long it last.
I was recommended Samsung over Sandisk...so far it doesn't seem to have made much of a difference.
Kensington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 03:33 PM   #24
rdsnake's Avatar
formerly RD SNAKE
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,526
formerly RD SNAKE
 
rdsnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,526
Casino cash: $18292200
1.12 per day
Default

I will see how long my Samsung EVO runs for. If I have any problems I will switch over to a Transcend card. Kinda pissed they don't make a 128 GB card tho.

Interesting enough, when I was reading the directions for my BlackVue they suggested formatting the card very 30 days.
rdsnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 03:37 PM   #25
DanJoy's Avatar
Bruh
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora
Posts: 28,120
Bruh
 
DanJoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aurora
Posts: 28,120
Casino cash: $2147483647
6.29 per day
Default

Interesting. I should probably read those sometime.
DanJoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts