4 post lift decking for storage

dirtrider

Jul 24, 2015
Schaumburg
I have little experience using lifts but I am getting older, lazier, and have a little more money than I used to so I'm finally considering getting one. It seems a 4 post lift needs no special footing work so that is nice. Allows me to potentially move it around the slab if I decide to reorganize things down the road. What I'm really curious about is using it for storage most of the time. Most people might store a car on it but I was thinking something else...like 4 motorcycles. Would be nice during the winter to get those bikes up and out of the way and park a car underneath. I was looking at something like:
Garage Pro 9000 Extra Tall and Extra Long | Atlas Automotive Equipment

Atlas makes it really easy to see dimensions on their images tab. It seems most people and manufacturers just use drip trays between the runways. I'd need a solid decking that could take pretty significant weight and I'd want the whole surface as flat as possible. I'd need 8' width minimum to store bikes width wise so a 10'+ wide 4 post lift seems best. Are the runways for the tires adjustable for width so I could set them far apart? Something like this idea but with bikes...
4-Post Lift Solid Deck Option Automotive Equipment Installation

I noticed Danmar has some solid deck centers but they look damn expensive for what they are ($816 at Northern Tool)
Aluminum Deck

Putting wheel mounts on the runways is another idea and then the bikes would store lengthwise with no need for a platform for kickstand or center stand.
http://dannmar.com/car-lifts/four-post-lifts/accessories/motorcycle-vise.html

I really like the Condor Lifts for motorcycles so perhaps I could fit 4 of those
http://www.condor-lift.com/

This is a nifty approach for a 2 post but again I'd need a solid deck and a 2 post wouldn't accommodate as much storage
LMA Lawnmower Two-Post Adapter | Atlas Automotive Equipment