Help me pick a little suv/ Jeep Patriot?

turtleman

Addict
Sep 6, 2009
Villa Park, IL
Real Name
covid
My roommate is gonna finally trade in the '04 tahoe and downsize to a small-mid size suv. He doesn't know shit about shit with cars so he's asking me for help. I can't offer much because brand new suv's I have little experience with. I tried talking him out of an suv altogether because he has zero need for one but he's used to it and can't live with a car now. I don't know what's really the most solid trouble-free stuff brand new nowadays. I told him to go out and test drive stuff but I dunno.

General requirements:
*he's only really looking at new '13/'14
*looks more boxy and whatnot like a truck and not the half-ass suv that it is
*AWD/4WD preferably paired with a 4cyl or something that can do good MPG
*cost is not a set-in-stone thing but basically under 30k
*features and toys are not very important

Right now the ones we've all been looking at have been:
*Toyota Hylander (he's ok the way it looks but I think AWD is only available with a v6)
*Honda Pilot (he likes the looks of that one a lot - maybe same issue as above but I forget)
*Jeep Patriot (this is what I really want to ask about)
*Hyundai Santa Fe (not totally sure how we feel about that one but I have a hookup at hyundai so it was an automatic option)