Engine advice

Thanks to everyone's help here, I am going to be getting a fiero within the next week, but the stock 2.8L V6 does have a couple problems. The previous owner states that he replaced the connected rod bearings and he either did it wrong or used really cheap ones. My guess is that the entire bottom would have to be rebuilt(maybe I'm wrong).

So I obviously have a couple options where I can go with this,
1. Rebuild the engine/just the lower half
2. Replace the rod bearings
3. Swap something else instead

I will admit that I've never done a rebuild or a swap before so this is completely new to me, but I am willing to try. If the option did come down to a swap, would it be recommended to rebuild it or could I let that go for a while?

Thanks!

Turbocharged400sbc

3800 & 4T80E > ALL
TCG Premium
Jun 16, 2007
hangover park IL
Oh all of you back down. V6 this, V6 that -

Go to the junk yard and get a 350. Make friends with Archie and blow everything else off the road.

V-8 Fiero

V6's are for pussies.

( 8 V8's in my driveway)

from the wording of his post he wasnt sounding like he wanted a huge project which is far from the best idea for someone just getting into those sorta in depth mods.

how? you can't just bolt a w subframe in with everything in minus a fiero steering bar?

cause the 3.1MPFI/3100/3400 is the direct decendant of the 2.8MPFI and everything bolts on and plugs right in minus just a couple details.

zenriddles

Guns don't kill people, 'vaccines' do
Aug 18, 2005
Holiday Inn
from the wording of his post he wasnt sounding like he wanted a huge project which is far from the best idea for someone just getting into those sorta in depth mods.

Did you LOOK at Archie's kit? Comically easy. If you are good enough to just change a motor - any motor, you are good enough for this upgrade.

I've met many of these cars, converted by their owners, and they weren't the sharpest knives in the drawer if you know what I mean.