User Tag List

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By tinfoilhat

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2012, 08:58 PM   #1
Turk's Avatar
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Casino cash: $34843825
6.12 per day
Default Car audio guys, NEED YOUR HELP!

Car is a 2007 Audi S4 with Bose system. We all know that audis can have some electrical problems, I was crossing my fingers hoping that I'd never cross one, but my luck has officially run out. The other day, I drove to the gym, listened to the radio just fine. After the gym, I get in the car and turn on the stereo and nothing. The car has navigation, which the radio/stereo is hooked up to. There are no codes, the nav screen says its playing the radio, cds etc, I can switch cds just fine, just no sound out of the speakers. The past couple times I've gotten in the car, as soon as I put the key in the ignition there is a pop that comes from the speakers. Today, I swear I actually heard the radio for a tenth of a second, then pop then nothing. Any ideas wtf could be going on?
__________________
Current Car
2012 R8 V10
2015 M3
Former Cars
2001 Camaro SS
2007 Audi S4
2008 M3 Blown
2016 WRX
Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:04 PM   #2
C.Evans's Avatar  
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sycamore, IL
Posts: 3,705
 
C.Evans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sycamore, IL
Posts: 3,705
Casino cash: $5769000
1.23 per day
Default

When you say no codes... you mean no codes in the BCM?
C.Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:05 PM   #3
OffshoreDrilling's Avatar
This is my safe space
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 29,083
This is my safe space
 
OffshoreDrilling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 29,083
Casino cash: $128846000
6.64 per day
Default

id say there is a problem with the radio internally.
__________________
I recently had a sex change and bought a 10 Prius.

OffshoreDrilling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:05 PM   #4
Turk's Avatar
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Casino cash: $34843825
6.12 per day
Default

No codes on the dash board. I haven't taken the car anywhere yet.
Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:06 PM   #5
Turk's Avatar
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Casino cash: $34843825
6.12 per day
Default

Do faulty connections on an audio system throw codes?
Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:09 PM   #6
tinfoilhat's Avatar
TCG Conspiracy Lead Investigator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 37,037
TCG Conspiracy Lead Investigator
 
tinfoilhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 37,037
Casino cash: $180381501
8.36 per day
Default

Is there an amp powering the speakers? Sounds like thats the problem
DanJoy likes this.
__________________
"It's never too cold for swamp ass."

XBO - NinjaTurtlThong

tinfoilhat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:11 PM   #7
Turk's Avatar
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Casino cash: $34843825
6.12 per day
Default

Yes, there is an amp in the trunk. This is a stock system.
Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:12 PM   #8
tinfoilhat's Avatar
TCG Conspiracy Lead Investigator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 37,037
TCG Conspiracy Lead Investigator
 
tinfoilhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 37,037
Casino cash: $180381501
8.36 per day
Default

Id check the amp/connections, there should be power lights at least. Usually stock setups the amp is powering the speakers not the headunit
tinfoilhat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:13 PM   #9
OffshoreDrilling's Avatar
This is my safe space
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 29,083
This is my safe space
 
OffshoreDrilling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 29,083
Casino cash: $128846000
6.64 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinfoilhat View Post
Is there an amp powering the speakers?
I guarantee there is an external amplifier in the car somewhere. With that said, he is hearing noise from the speakers when he puts the key in the ignition. To me, it sounds like there is no output happening from the radio to the amplifier. Whatever the car is doing at the time he puts the key in is causing some sort of signal to go to the amplifier, whether it's activating a chime or some other signal/voltage change/whatever.

Maybe some software issue that tweaked out the radio.
OffshoreDrilling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:16 PM   #10
Mike K's Avatar
Forum Sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12,799
Forum Sponsor
 
Mike K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12,799
Casino cash: $46246708
3.08 per day
Default

If this is anything like my A8 it's a fiber optic system. I have a Dension interface box in the A8 for my iPod and on hot summer days the fiber optic lines contract just enough to break the fiber optic ring. When this happens I get a little popping in the speakers and no sound from the system.

I'm not sure if the S4 is running a MOST setup but if it is that's the first thing I'd check.
Mike K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:24 PM   #11
Turk's Avatar
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Casino cash: $34843825
6.12 per day
Default

I'm thinking its some sort of bad connection somewhere, something loose. I will dig into it saturday, I'm praying I don't have to replace the overpriced amp..
Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:28 PM   #12
OffshoreDrilling's Avatar
This is my safe space
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 29,083
This is my safe space
 
OffshoreDrilling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 29,083
Casino cash: $128846000
6.64 per day
Default

Good to know mike. I was completely unaware of the fiber optic stuff, but that sounds like a likely culprit after hearing that
OffshoreDrilling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:28 PM   #13
Turk's Avatar
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Casino cash: $34843825
6.12 per day
Default

Mike, did you ever fix the problem?
Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 10:51 PM   #14
smug's Avatar
Please go back to eating crayons
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cedar Lake, IN
Posts: 7,063
Please go back to eating crayons
 
smug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Cedar Lake, IN
Posts: 7,063
Casino cash: $15983965
1.60 per day
Default

I highly doubt it would be a bad fuse, but just check them first to make sure. My vote goes to a bad connection before the amp.
__________________
2015 Honda Accord Coupe EX-L V6 Navi
Lowered on 20's
Kick ass stereo
smug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 11:05 PM   #15
Mike K's Avatar
Forum Sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12,799
Forum Sponsor
 
Mike K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12,799
Casino cash: $46246708
3.08 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turk View Post
Mike, did you ever fix the problem?
I did. I didn't clamp one of the fittings all the way. I just did a quick google search and don't see anything for the A4/ S4 having a MOST setup though. I think you're old fashioned wires on that car.
Mike K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 11:27 PM   #16
TwistedSoundCo's Avatar  
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manteno
Posts: 709
 
TwistedSoundCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manteno
Posts: 709
Casino cash: $4986640
0.27 per day
Default

Hey, Turk where are you located? I own a company doing audio stuff. I'm super busy tmrw, but Tuesday I'm open alot until Saturday. If you want to swing by new lenox I can take a look at it for you. Give me ur email or email me at [email protected] and if you cant swing by ill help ya out on hear..I'm just packed tmrw and need to get to bed now lol
TwistedSoundCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 11:32 PM   #17
Sprayin's Avatar
Public Enemy #1
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17,134
Public Enemy #1
 
Sprayin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 17,134
Casino cash: $69588538
4.31 per day
Default

My brothers last 2 Caddys had a problem like this. The first one he would turn the car off and back on and it would work. The second one he just has to push the off button ans turn it back on and its just fine. Idk if you've had the problem over and over again.
__________________
Semi-Retired
Sprayin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 11:35 PM   #18
Turk's Avatar
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Casino cash: $34843825
6.12 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedSoundCo View Post
Hey, Turk where are you located? I own a company doing audio stuff. I'm super busy tmrw, but Tuesday I'm open alot until Saturday. If you want to swing by new lenox I can take a look at it for you. Give me ur email or email me at [email protected] and if you cant swing by ill help ya out on hear..I'm just packed tmrw and need to get to bed now lol
Cool man, thanks for the offer. My one buddy is going to look at it this Tuesday. If we're stumped, I'll hit you up.
Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 11:39 PM   #19
TwistedSoundCo's Avatar  
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manteno
Posts: 709
 
TwistedSoundCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manteno
Posts: 709
Casino cash: $4986640
0.27 per day
Default

Sounds good man, feel free to email or pm me if I forget to check the thread lol
TwistedSoundCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 01:28 AM   #20
hellraiser319's Avatar
Hellraising since 1986
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 1,324
Hellraising since 1986
 
hellraiser319's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 1,324
Casino cash: $5568068
0.39 per day
Default

Probably amplified, if it's popping, see if it's a specific speaker popping, or if its all of them. If its a specific speaker popping, probably a problem with that speaker and the amplifier is shutting down to prevent damage. If you can't localize it, there's a chance the amplifier is going out, or there is a loose connection somewhere, but if it hasn't been tampered with, that would be kind of rare to see. Check all the fuses too, if one is blown, something on the lines of an amplifier fuse, amp is probably toast.

Audio systems usually do not throw codes, rarely linked in with the rest of the car's diagnostics.
__________________

Chris H.
MECP Advanced - CEA170106 Best Buy Moline, IL
XBL, PSN, FB, FQuick, TCG, CVN = hellraiser319
hellraiser319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 02:11 AM   #21
Burtonrider10022's Avatar  
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 13,048
 
Burtonrider10022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 13,048
Casino cash: $13490161
3.11 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedSoundCo View Post
Hey, Turk where are you located? I own a company doing audio stuff. I'm super busy tmrw, but Tuesday I'm open alot until Saturday. If you want to swing by new lenox I can take a look at it for you. Give me ur email or email me at [email protected] and if you cant swing by ill help ya out on hear..I'm just packed tmrw and need to get to bed now lol
No one lives down by us. Its you, me, the guy with the CTS-V from CSVT, and and I think Aircal lives on the southside? Palos maybe? Someone here lives in Palos... Otherwise almost everyone else lives northwest...





Turk, do you have a VAGCOM? Is VAGCOM still the main diag. tool used by Audi/VW? If it is it is probably a worthwhile purchase... its just some diag software and a cable for your laptop. Used to change a lot of settings in the ECU and diag a lot of codes. I know you can do some (very) minor tuning stuff with it too...
__________________
2011 Outlander Sport SE 4WD
Burtonrider10022 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 12:54 PM   #22
Turk's Avatar
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Casino cash: $34843825
6.12 per day
Default

Figured out something today. When the radio is on, I can unplug the amp and plug it back in the music works for 10 seconds, pop then shut off.
Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 01:07 PM   #23
Turk's Avatar
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Lt. Ron "Slider" Kerner
 
Turk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25,904
Casino cash: $34843825
6.12 per day
Default

And now it's staying on. Crossing my fingers...
Turk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 02:58 PM   #24
TwistedSoundCo's Avatar  
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manteno
Posts: 709
 
TwistedSoundCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manteno
Posts: 709
Casino cash: $4986640
0.27 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burtonrider10022 View Post
No one lives down by us. Its you, me, the guy with the CTS-V from CSVT, and and I think Aircal lives on the southside? Palos maybe? Someone here lives in Palos... Otherwise almost everyone else lives northwest.
Haha damn northsiders
TwistedSoundCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts