Safe to trickle charge an Optima??

Fish

From the quiet street
TCG Premium
Aug 3, 2007
Hanover Park
Real Name
Fish
This POS Optima has died on me twice so far since it has gotten cold. Took the alternator off and it tested fine. Ive been using my jump pack to get the car running since I have been lucky enough to have it die on me while at home.

I figure maybe if I leave it on the trickle charger overnight it should help out. Or is that a bad idea?

bikrboy128

Some say.....
TCG Premium
Jul 15, 2007
Wheaton
yes you can, or so says the manufacturer.
you can use any charger on an Optima as long as the voltage is regulated properly. If your charger will remain on indefinitely the voltage should be at 13.8 volts maximum with a one amp maximum current.

i've never had to do it, so i have no experience with it. but i've read horror stories from people that left their optima on a trickle charger. the stories include flaming/exploding optimas in them :ugh:

Fish

From the quiet street
TCG Premium
Aug 3, 2007
Hanover Park
Real Name
Fish
i've never had to do it, so i have no experience with it. but i've read horror stories from people that left their optima on a trickle charger. the stories include flaming/exploding optimas in them :ugh:

Yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyeah, a situation I dont feel like getting myself into. If it was a standard battery I wouldnt think twice. However, these Optimas seem to be hit or miss for everything.

Fish

From the quiet street
TCG Premium
Aug 3, 2007
Hanover Park
Real Name
Fish
I thought that maybe it was the alternator not charging the battery fully, so thats why I had it tested. But if it is fine, then something is wrong with the battery.

Another thing that might be fucking things up is the ZZP Volt booster. I can take that off and see what happens.

Runtz52

Runs like a turtle with downs syndrome
Oct 7, 2008
Manhattan