Few questions

ProjectGTP

Addict
Jan 24, 2011
My first question is if I can just take the balance shaft gear off and be done, or do I have to get the whole rotating assembly balanced.

Next question is whats the best timing. I have an xp cam and rollermaster timing set. The timing set has a bunch of spots to put it retard or advanced. I forgot how it was it when I pulled it off. Im an idiot I know.

Next is whats the best exhaust manifold gaskets to use. I have sd headers. Do I get the felpro ones or keep the stock metal ones. Last time they leaked bad with the ones it came with.

Thanks

Handsome Jesus

A V6? What a ripoff...
TCG Premium
Jun 9, 2007
Carpentersville, IL
I'll try to answer all of these right now.

Balance shaft - You can take the gear off and leave the shaft in there, I think this eliminates the issue of blocking off the oil passage to the shaft, though if you are shedding weight I think the balance shaft is like 8-10 lbs... look up some old posts on modifying the oil passage on the timing cover to delete the oil to the shaft.

I'd say set the timing to standard, no advance or retard. should be a little dot. ( i dont remember how to set up a rollmaster set) advancing the timing of the cam lowers the powerband in the RPM range, retarding moves the powerband up in the RPM range.

Best manifold gasket would probably be a good set of GMs with copper sealant on them. Felpros work ok as well. I always copper spray my shit to help it stay on when I am installing or whatever. kinda makes a mess, but it is nice to not have leaks to worry about.

Hope that helps. More will chime in.

-DD

ProjectGTP

Addict
Jan 24, 2011
Stock timing set on an L67 is 2 degrees advanced...stock chain on a L36 set is 0 IIRC. Unless you have a multi key timing set, you can only adjust it by swapping the gears between the two.