3800 Home theatre gurus please step in...

98GTPDriva

TCG Elite Member
Jun 24, 2008
I've been working on my home theatre set-up and I want to make sure that I will have everything together so it can be pretty much "plug 'n' play." For some reason, I usually forget some minute detail that prohibits me from playing with my new toys right away. One thing I want to do is upgrade my wiring from what is given to me. I am no wire expert either, so this is where I would like some help.

Here is the set-up I am more-than-likely going to purchase:

-TV: Samsung 61" 1080P DLP TV - http://www.abtelectronics.com/product/28198.html

-Surround Sound: Onkyo 7.1 - http://www.abtelectronics.com/product/28941.html

-DVD: Samsung 1080P Upconvert - http://www.abtelectronics.com/photos/29110.html

(I'm waiting to see who wins between HD and Blu-ray before I buy one...)

Now I want to make sure I have all the wiring I need:

I will be purchasing all of my wiring from http://www.monoprice.com

-I already own Composite cables for my Wii
-6FT HDMI Cable for connection between by TV and DVD
-Upgraded Surround Sound speaker wire --> not sure what to get (I've heard 12 or 16g wiring) or length either

Is there anything else I am forgetting here? I'm pretty set on everything too as I have been doing some research for quite-a-while.

TIA!

burtgtp1973

TCG Elite Member
Jan 20, 2009
Bourbonnais Illinois
I wouldn't worry about up-grading your speaker wire. You aren't going to hear any difference with the speaker wire that is included. If you went with high end speakers it would worth while to spend a little for wiring, but with a in home theater in a box you will be fine. You will get the more benefit from correct speaker placement and tuning...not through expensive cables and wires.

Overall looks to be a nice little system. Good luck & enjoy it.

Mike K

TCG Elite Member
Apr 11, 2008