3800 car chase, police investigation, explosive device...

I work as a painter part time for extra cash on the side...

So this morning i was minding my own business and painting a front door when the loudest **!!BOOOOOM!!** i've ever heard went off ~30' feet away from me.
I first saw a bright white flash, about as bright as the light from a welder, or plasma out of the periphery of my vision and was hit in the face and side with "shrapnel"...

I nearly shit myself; it was freakin scary! There was a big rut in the grass where the device went off..
I then saw a dark Lincoln Town Car screech its tires and tear-ass away. I went into the street to see where this jerk who just threw some type of explosive device at me went. He gestured a F-U with his hand out of the window at me! Son of a bitch. It's on now!

I jumped in my car and went after the Town Car. He was about two blocks ahead of me speeding away... I eventually lost him, but continued to circle the block where last saw him turn on to.

Then i found the car sitting about one block from where the explosive device was thrown at me, i pulled over and started writing down the license plate number, shooting photos, and getting the vehicle description for local LE.
I could see someone peeking through the blinds inside and figured it was the bad guy, so i drove down to the end of the block and dialed the non-emergency number for the local LE. Just as i did that, some guy sprints to the town car and squeels out of there - he didn't see me waiting for LE to arrive at the end of the block, and the chase was on!

I had the girl dispatcher on the phone with me as i was calling out the directions of where i was following this jerk to. The dispatch girl kept telling me that i need to pull over and wait for cops to catch him; i did not want to risk letting this jerk get away - he could have killed me with this powerful bomb!