3800 Important changes in law for 2006

Ten32

Regular
Nov 22, 2008
Wilmette, IL
I just got my Illinois State Police law update for 2006 and there are some important changes I thought you guys should know about.

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer and I am not providing legal advice. There may be errors or omissions in the following, please check the 2006 Illinois Vehicle Code for full details. I take no responsibility for the reliability of this information.

625 ILCS 5/6-108, 12-603.1, 25/4b
Provides that every person under the age of 19 (not 18) must wear a seat belt while riding as passenger in a car driven by a person under the age of 18.

625 ILCS 5/12-215
Provides that blue oscillating, rotating, or flashing lights are prohibited whether lighted or unlighted except on specified vehicles.

625 ILCS 5/12-604.1
Provides that a person may not operate a motor vehicle if a TV receiver, video monitor, TV or video screen, or any other similar means of visually displaying a TV broadcast or video signal that produces entertainment or business applications is operating and is located in the motor vehicle at any point forward of the back of the driver's seat or is operating and visible to the driver while driving a motor vehicle. Does not prohibit use of navigation devices.

625 ILCS 5/12-610.1
Provides that a person, under the age of 18, who holds an instruction permit or a graduated license, may not use a wireless phone while driving a vehicle on a roadway. Does not apply while calling law enforcement, medical help, or other emergency services.

625 ILCS 5/12-610.1