3800 Is it worth it?

frankenstinesy

Regular
Nov 14, 2008
I drive a 97 GTP with approx 84k miles. The body of my car has definitely seen better days. The clearcoat is chipping away on my spoiler and near one of my grills. There are numerous chips on the hood and a chip about the size of a quarter that is down to bare metal and exposed a rust spot. There is a crease in my bumper, someone must have backed into me in a parking lot or something. Do you think it would be worth it to have my car painted? I haven't called a body shop yet, but I've been told that I would be looking to spend anywhere from $1500 to $3grand. $3grand seems to be a little extreme to me. But that's just me thinking. I plan on driving this until I graduate from college which will be at least 2 more years, possibly 3. That's why I'm debating this, I don't have a lot of money since I'm a college student but I don't wanna drive a rust bucket around campus either.

If anyone is knowledgeable about the costs of painting a car, feel free to chime in with your advice and knowledge.

TIA, Andrew.

frankenstinesy

Regular
Nov 14, 2008
Originally posted by J.E.T.+Jul 18 2005, 11:51 AM-->
Trade it in.  Buy my car  :D  - it's the same color as yours.
[snapback]92126[/snapback]​
[/b]

Haha! How much you want? My parents prolly wouldn't like it too much if I did it. Both times you've been over at my house my mom has commented on how much louder your car is than mine. :lolsign: If it really does cost 3 grand to paint a car it would almost be worth it though. And I'm guessing I'm gonna have to get my trans rebuilt in the next couple of years as well :( .

<!--QuoteBegin-redgt03
@Jul 18 2005, 11:55 AM
depends on how much you are into looks.......if it does not bother you than i would not....and if you only plan on keeping it a couple more years then i would just save your money....ya know....
[snapback]92128[/snapback]​