3800 Any ideas on how a stock suspension GP will behave

horist

Geek
Nov 10, 2008
Lake Zurich
I'm thinking of racing at Road America this year (MFBA has it rented out, $350 to run for 2 days) but not sure of a few things

I know an auto car isn't ideal for road racing to start... but i'm more concerned w/how a FWD car would behave...

I've never done road racing before much less in a FWD car...

I know the Comp G package is supposed to up my suspension a little... but anyone have any ideas on how GPs handle around sharp turns or FWD cars in general?

rjaz gtp

TCG Elite Member
Feb 10, 2008
Naperville
Mike-

I would think that you could give your GP a run for its money with no probelms. I mean if you ever really watch what people in "Car and Driver" and actual GM facilities do to these vehicles I would imagine it could handle this road course you are talking about. I do not know the severity of the setup they are going to have there, but I do know these cars are pushed pretty hard and it should be a fun drive for ya!

Fish

From the quiet street
TCG Premium
Aug 3, 2007
Hanover Park
Real Name
Fish
Ive never done a road course, but Ive messed around on windy roads late at night before. My stock suspension did pretty well I though. Im sure with the Comp G package, you should do fine. Also the tap shift might help as well.

If in doubt, get some buick STBs. If you argue at the dealer, they will give them to you for 8 bucks each. IIRC, your car had the holes pre drilled on the strut tower for them.

F

fastcash

the thing about road racing is that you want to make sure you are ulimately secure in your seat you don't want to be flopping around when you are trying to make sharp, fasst turns. i have constanly pushed my 98 to the limit and have yet to be disappointed. remember, even tho it is automatic, you can still downshift in emergencies or if your brakes can't handle it. i do it, and it works, just keep it in 3rd so you just have to tap down to second ;)

have fun