Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > Automotive Discussions > 3800 Discussion

User Tag List

Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By GTPpower
  • 2 Post By Yaj Yak
  • 1 Post By Yaj Yak
  • 1 Post By v6buicks

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-16-2019, 05:33 PM   #1
 
v6buicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 104
Casino cash: $1610000
0.39 per day
Default WBO2 input to stock ECM

Hi everyone,

First of all, am I late to notice that HP finally came out with the MPVI2 pro?? Sweeeet.

Anyway, I am nowhere near ready to be looking into that because it turns out that I need some schooling on vocabulary and how our ECMs work. I was reading into tuning my stock '02 Camaro ECM with a wide band feeding the EGR pintle position circuit. It sounds like a pretty crafty way to get this stuff to work together, but some of the manuals for these gauges are unclear to me. For instance, when the instructions advertise "analog output" they don't mean a sine wave right? I just need a 0.5-4.5V output. Right?

Sorry if this sounds really basic, but this is my first serious build. I just don't want to waste a lot of money of parts that I don't need or won't work for what I'm doing. This is the gauge I'm interested in. Let me know if you gurus think it's a good buy. If I read past all the information that applies to AEM EMS it looks to me like it will work. Thanks!

https://www.aemelectronics.com/files...0E85%20AFR.pdf
v6buicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 10:45 PM   #2
 
GTPpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,046
Casino cash: $24333500
0.79 per day
Default

A wideband doesnt emit the sine wave like the factory narrow band does. .5-4.5 output is what you need. That wideband will work perfect with hpt.
v6buicks likes this.
__________________
05 F350 6.0 - studded, deleted, updated, tuned
01 GTP - Slicks/Skinnies/Nitrous/Stock Trans - [email protected] Sold
66 442 Vert - Needs work
01 GTP Race Car
GTPpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 07:05 AM   #3
 
v6buicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 104
Casino cash: $1610000
0.39 per day
Default

Got it. Thanks!
v6buicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 07:06 AM   #4
Harbor Master
 
Yaj Yak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 87,671
Casino cash: $142234000
19.77 per day
Default

i dunno if this helps but that's the gauge i have wired through my egr
GTPpower and v6buicks like this.
__________________
01 525i
01 turbo pricks
13 gas 3500hd cclb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Outlaw View Post
TCG: We pull vanity fair models in our F150ís because Teslaís are unsafe.
Yaj Yak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 07:20 AM   #5
 
v6buicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 104
Casino cash: $1610000
0.39 per day
Default

Haha very helpful. Thank you
v6buicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 07:23 AM   #6
Harbor Master
 
Yaj Yak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 87,671
Casino cash: $142234000
19.77 per day
Default

Yaj Yak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 07:31 AM   #7
The Midnight Sweeper
 
SleeperLS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sandia Mountain
Posts: 10,767
Casino cash: $72069675
2.75 per day
Default

I think I also heard you can use the AC compressor switch
__________________
2010 Toyota Tundra 4wd SR5 TRD Offroad
2017 Can Am Maverick Max X3 XDS

SleeperLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 08:03 AM   #8
Harbor Master
 
Yaj Yak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 87,671
Casino cash: $142234000
19.77 per day
Default

ooooh solid threads on this:

https://www.thechicagogarage.com/for...eband-hpt.html


https://www.thechicagogarage.com/for...alibrated.html
Yaj Yak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 08:37 AM   #9
 
TurboTPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Bensenville, Il
Posts: 91
Casino cash: $1305000
0.17 per day
Default

Im assuming to do it thru the EGR wire, the EGR is not able to operate? Id like to do this as well, but my EGR is still on and operating.
__________________
01 Buick Regal GS-Daily Driver, "bolt ons"
92 Firebird Formula 350- slow turbo TPI street car
TurboTPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 08:38 AM   #10
Harbor Master
 
Yaj Yak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 87,671
Casino cash: $142234000
19.77 per day
Default

correct, egr won't operate if you wire it that way.
TurboTPI likes this.
Yaj Yak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 10:16 AM   #11
 
GTPpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,046
Casino cash: $24333500
0.79 per day
Default

It's basically for those that have done the egr delete.

The a/c is the same way.
GTPpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 10:50 AM   #12
 
v6buicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 104
Casino cash: $1610000
0.39 per day
Default

My EGR and evap. ports have pipe plugs in them. I'll be good to go. I may use the AC wire since it will be closer to my WB sensor. We'll see.
v6buicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 11:30 AM   #13
 
b4black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oswego
Posts: 1,035
Casino cash: $18155000
0.26 per day
Default

I found I didn't need to log the WB. It's stays fairly consistent during a WOT run. I just glanced at it, saw what it was and made adjustments to the tune.

This will work for coarse tuning to get you started. Not perfect, but still way better than flying totally blind.
b4black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 06:40 PM   #14
 
v6buicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 104
Casino cash: $1610000
0.39 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b4black View Post
I found I didn't need to log the WB. It's stays fairly consistent during a WOT run. I just glanced at it, saw what it was and made adjustments to the tune.

This will work for coarse tuning to get you started. Not perfect, but still way better than flying totally blind.
I just figured I would go for it since it looked easy and the circuit was going unused otherwise.
v6buicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2019, 06:44 PM   #15
 
v6buicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 104
Casino cash: $1610000
0.39 per day
Default

By the way... I saw that you have an 82 GN. I'm jealous. Is it pretty original? 4.1?
v6buicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 12:27 PM   #16
 
v6buicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 104
Casino cash: $1610000
0.39 per day
Default

I just wanted to thank everybody here for the tips and reassurance. I started wiring my gauge yesterday, and decided to run my i/o through the now unused AC pressure switch circuit. This was easier than pulling wires through the loom from the EGR. My car is also conveniently basic. The only option it came with was rear defrost, so I have the traction control and fog light wiring to use for auxiliary gauge power. I was so stoked that I even made a supplement drawing to put into my dealer manual for future reference. I'll update it once I find out where my power and grounds are located.

TurboTPI likes this.
v6buicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts