Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > Automotive Discussions > 3800 Discussion

User Tag List

Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By GTPpower
  • 1 Post By Ron Vogel
  • 2 Post By 10sec
  • 1 Post By 1quick
  • 2 Post By 10sec

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2018, 08:09 AM   #1
 
TurboTPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Bensenville, Il
Posts: 91
Casino cash: $1305000
0.17 per day
Default E85 and stock fuel pump

What are the stock fuel pumps able to do? Im on a 3.2" pulley currently and it seems to be keeping up ok. I have a 2.8" and was wondering if I should to a fuel pump before putting it on. Has anyone ran a 2.8" on e85 and a stock pump?
__________________
01 Buick Regal GS-Daily Driver, "bolt ons"
92 Firebird Formula 350- slow turbo TPI street car
TurboTPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 09:00 AM   #2
 
TurboTPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Bensenville, Il
Posts: 91
Casino cash: $1305000
0.17 per day
Default

Oh, and I do have a fuel pump hotwire on the car if that makes any difference.
TurboTPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 09:15 AM   #3
 
b4black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oswego
Posts: 1,035
Casino cash: $18155000
0.26 per day
Default

Too many variables to know for sure.

What I did was connect a pressure gauge to the fuel rail with a long line of tubing, then taped it the windshield. Go for a WOT blast and make sure the fuel pressure climbs with boost (the fuel pressure regulator is connected to manifold pressure).

If it climbs up great, you have enough flow. It is flattens out or drops, then you are running out of flow / volume.

And watch you knock sensor of course.
__________________
2013 Lincoln MKS 3.5 Ecoboost
2002 Buick Regal GS (Sold-3800 Alumnus)
1996 Dodge Ram - Cummins 12 Valve - 4x4
1982 Buick Grand National x2
1965 Hemi Barracuda - Richard Petty's 43 JR drag car
b4black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 09:40 AM   #4
 
TurboTPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Bensenville, Il
Posts: 91
Casino cash: $1305000
0.17 per day
Default

good idea, that's what Ill go do.
TurboTPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 10:54 AM   #5
 
GTPpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,046
Casino cash: $24333500
0.79 per day
Default

I ran a 2.7 on the stock pump. It was losing pressure in the upper rpms. Everything was fine on a 3.0. I would think pretty hard about upgrading the pump below a 3.0.
TurboTPI likes this.
__________________
05 F350 6.0 - studded, deleted, updated, tuned
01 GTP - Slicks/Skinnies/Nitrous/Stock Trans - [email protected] Sold
66 442 Vert - Needs work
01 GTP Race Car
GTPpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 11:17 AM   #6
 
TurboTPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Bensenville, Il
Posts: 91
Casino cash: $1305000
0.17 per day
Default

So I went ahead and got a walbro 255 for my car. I got everything apart and the walbro is a lot different than the stock pump. The stock pump has two pick ups on the bottom. I got the pump from my buddy, maybe I need a W-body specific one, if there is such a thing?
TurboTPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 02:07 PM   #7
 
Ron Vogel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bolingbrook
Posts: 3,640
Casino cash: $13702355
0.83 per day
Default

There’s only one line coming out of the pump though. You are probably looking at the Venturi pump...which is just there to get every last drop of gas out of the tank. You basically can just gut the bottom of the pump basket to make it work, but you won’t be able to suck the tank completely dry anymore.

It’s a good idea to watch FP as you increase boost. If the FP shelves off and the boost pressure keeps rising you aren’t going to be atomizing well at high rpms...so less benefit to e85. With smaller than a 2.8 pulley I needed to use an adjustable regulator and run a boost a pump to get enough pressure. IIRC FP was somewhere about 75psi with 19psi of boost. You may have luck by putting a diode or two inline with the alternator feedback to raise running voltage enough to juice up the pump if you don’t want to spend the money on a boost a pump
TurboTPI likes this.
Ron Vogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 02:39 PM   #8
 
TurboTPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Bensenville, Il
Posts: 91
Casino cash: $1305000
0.17 per day
Default

Thanks, I cut out the bottom of the basket. Seems to be just fine. I just need to take it for a test drive and see if it runs lean WOT.
TurboTPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 09:03 AM   #9
 
TurboTPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Bensenville, Il
Posts: 91
Casino cash: $1305000
0.17 per day
Default

Well, ive been busy this week and didn't get to really diagnose it till yesterday, but it was going lean under wot throttle with the walbro 255. I hooked up a fuel pressure gauge yesterday and its good till wot open throttle. it would jump up to 60+ psi then quickly drop to 40 before id let off. I did get the pump from a buddy that said he was pretty sure its ok, obviously it wasn't. I picked up an aeromotive stealth 340. Put it in lastnite, all good now. A/F ratio is right at 11.0:1 wot. I pick up a good amount of KR at lower speeds, but I did a pull from 60mph to 120mph and not a hint of KR. So im thinking im getting false knock at lower speeds, maybe my headers rubbing the steering rack, it is pretty close.
TurboTPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 12:33 PM   #10
I haz dat teddy bear smile.
 
10sec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 22,993
Casino cash: $88888925
5.74 per day
Default

I hate those garbage sensors. I picked up 4mph in my stock GTP when I turned them off.
1quick and TurboTPI like this.
__________________
2005 S2000
10sec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 02:05 PM   #11
 
1quick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: coal city
Posts: 19,222
Casino cash: $142047447
4.59 per day
Default

I had them unplugged in my turbo car
TurboTPI likes this.
__________________
2016 GT 5.slow
1quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2018, 07:45 AM   #12
 
GTPpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,046
Casino cash: $24333500
0.79 per day
Default

Lol. Jeez, you guys are brave.
GTPpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2018, 10:56 AM   #13
I haz dat teddy bear smile.
 
10sec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 22,993
Casino cash: $88888925
5.74 per day
Default

My car was stock on E85 with only 19 degrees of timing and it was showing 4-5kr for the entire run. I had a hard time believing that, so I turned them off and trapped 99mph in a stock GTP The stock pulley just didn't make enough torque to get it off the line to run in the 13's though. 14.1 is all I could get.
GTPpower and TurboTPI like this.
10sec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 02:27 PM   #14
 
TurboTPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Bensenville, Il
Posts: 91
Casino cash: $1305000
0.17 per day
Default

So im still having knock issues. I thought it was false from the header hitting the steering rack, so I pulled the engine forward with a ratchet strap, still showing knock. I flashed in a tune with only 10 degrees timing. Knock is gone. How much timing have any of you guys ran with e85 and no intercooler. I was running 21 degrees on my 3.2 pulley, I find it hard to believe that dropping to a 2.8 would create that much knock. I initially started at 18 degrees when I put the 2.8 on. Had knock so went straight to 10 degrees just for shits, 0 knock, went up to 12 degrees and started see slight knock again. I guess that's just what it will take
TurboTPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 03:14 PM   #15
 
TurboTPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Bensenville, Il
Posts: 91
Casino cash: $1305000
0.17 per day
Default

I should add, I have platinum AL104's in it now. I got a set of copper AL103's, we'll see if that helps. I was reading the platinum can get really hot and cause detonation, maybe that's causing my issue.
TurboTPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts