3800 To the welders out there

sweetness

Addict
Nov 12, 2008
I have a question for you. I only have a small, 110v mig welder. i don't have the cash to get a gas setup right now. What i need to know is whether or not i can weld aluminized steel with a flux core setup. if so, is there any particular type of wire i need to use. I just have the spool that came with the welder. (obviously im somewhat new at this.) thanks for the help.

BC

rob

TCG Elite Member
Dec 28, 2008
No get the right wire and gas or you'll be sorry. The flux core will make a mess. Its a dirty weld. I welded up my DP with it and it was a mess. :angry: You may want to tack everything in place with the flux core then take it off and have it all tigged up.

OR

I cant remember but you may need different wire and gas for aluminized metal. Call you local welding shop...1# of wire is cheap and you may be able to rent a tank of gas....Call around...I dont think you'll have much success with the flux core though.

sweetness

Addict
Nov 12, 2008
thats what i was afraid of. Im not concerend with the cost of the wire, i know it isn't that expensive. The issue is taht i dont have the hook up needed to run gas, and cant afford it right now. I would MUCH rather use gas. Do you know of any welding stores in the naperville/dg area? If not, where do you go.

BC

I

imported_Ron Vogel