Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > Automotive Discussions > 3800 Discussion

User Tag List

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Jfrost

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2016, 07:42 PM   #1
Fiero's are addicting
 
Jfrost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brookfield
Posts: 2,016
Casino cash: $15218300
0.73 per day
Default Surging idle and no start

When starting, the idle surges 700-1200 rpms for a bit then will normalize, also happens when coming to a stop at times (car in neutral). I consider this pretty normal since I completed the engine swap into the Fiero and didn't think much of it till today.

I drove around about 30 min and then parked for an hour or so before starting again. It fired up and then died twice in a row, then the third time I gave it some gas and then it stayed running and the idle fluctuated again before normalizing. I can hear the fuel pump priming and running each time as it sits right below the center armrest so I don't feel it's a fuel issue.

First thought is it could be either the cam or crank sensor starting to go out. It's a junkyard engine with about 80k miles on it, so it could be time to replace them anyway. The engine is mated to a manual trans in my Fiero and has ran great until this mishap today.

I'm wanting to drive the car to central IL this Saturday and want to address this before it comes back again.
__________________
1987 Fiero GT: L67 swap
Project L67 Fiero
Jfrost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 07:59 PM   #2
Fiero's are addicting
 
Jfrost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brookfield
Posts: 2,016
Casino cash: $15218300
0.73 per day
Default

Not sure why I didn't think of this first but could be the IAC valve, have a spare I could try out too.
01GTvert likes this.
Jfrost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 08:01 PM   #3
Fast BoyZ of IllinoiZ
 
Xfirez51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northwest Chicagoland
Posts: 1,797
Casino cash: $12141900
0.75 per day
Default

Sounds like your crank and warm-up fuel tables need to be richer. Not sure what you're using but you could try flattening your timing and Fuel tables around the idle rpms.
Xfirez51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 01:29 PM   #4
 
ZephTheChef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 835
Casino cash: $127785900
0.43 per day
Default

I had some issues like this with a car recently and just adjusted the throttle stop and it cleared right up. The TPS was reading 0% at idle. In my experience the computer likes to see a couple % at closed throttle. Not sure if it was the TPS being that low, or if that position was putting the idle at the limits of IAC adjustment or what, but it drives fine now.
ZephTheChef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 03:17 PM   #5
Fast BoyZ of IllinoiZ
 
Xfirez51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northwest Chicagoland
Posts: 1,797
Casino cash: $12141900
0.75 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZephTheChef View Post
I had some issues like this with a car recently and just adjusted the throttle stop and it cleared right up. The TPS was reading 0% at idle. In my experience the computer likes to see a couple % at closed throttle. Not sure if it was the TPS being that low, or if that position was putting the idle at the limits of IAC adjustment or what, but it drives fine now.
You bring up a good point and that is having the Min Air adjustment done properly. The TPS% will read 0, but you want to set the TPS volts to a certain range. On the GM stuff I have done, it's in the .52-.57v range for 0%.
Xfirez51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 01:18 PM   #6
 
ZephTheChef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 835
Casino cash: $127785900
0.43 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xfirez51 View Post
You bring up a good point and that is having the Min Air adjustment done properly. The TPS% will read 0, but you want to set the TPS volts to a certain range. On the GM stuff I have done, it's in the .52-.57v range for 0%.
I didn't play with it too much on the car I had the issue with recently to see what the actual voltage/reading was, but on the twincharged car, the trans would go into max line pressure mode if the TPS was reading 0% on the scanner at idle. I have it set at like 2% now and it's been fine. Of course, that's not apples to apples...we're talking about a Ford TPS and throttle body, no IAC, etc.
ZephTheChef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 01:54 PM   #7
Fast BoyZ of IllinoiZ
 
Xfirez51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northwest Chicagoland
Posts: 1,797
Casino cash: $12141900
0.75 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZephTheChef View Post
I didn't play with it too much on the car I had the issue with recently to see what the actual voltage/reading was, but on the twincharged car, the trans would go into max line pressure mode if the TPS was reading 0% on the scanner at idle. I have it set at like 2% now and it's been fine. Of course, that's not apples to apples...we're talking about a Ford TPS and throttle body, no IAC, etc.
Well w electronic throttle, GM has eliminated the IAC also.
Xfirez51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 02:10 PM   #8
Welllllllllll ya knowwwwwww.....
 
Turbocharged400sbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: hangover park IL
Posts: 26,499
Casino cash: $46588000
6.01 per day
Default

fuck dbw
__________________
Double D Racing: Over-engineered and under-funded
Schlimbuilt: 32 orders of magnitude above "good enough"
https://drive.google.com/file/d/15tJ...ew?usp=sharing
04 GTP clone, a nice heap
84 Cressida waGN 3800jz-gte swapped scrap pile
68 F250 camper special 390fe/np435/d60...EFI 460/5spd ZF someday
94 Olds 442 (462ci-4wd-2 engines) new chassis underway... L67/4t80e^[email protected]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfman View Post
3800>all other technology ever
Turbocharged400sbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 02:11 PM   #9
 
ZephTheChef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 835
Casino cash: $127785900
0.43 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbocharged400sbc View Post
fuck dbw
x2
ZephTheChef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 02:12 PM   #10
Welllllllllll ya knowwwwwww.....
 
Turbocharged400sbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: hangover park IL
Posts: 26,499
Casino cash: $46588000
6.01 per day
Default

on your note, check the paper tb gasket, they love to crack and vac leak

the other probability is the iac seat/passage has enough coking that its a "large" step in airflow at certain points, also if enough gets into the stepper shaft it'll gum up and stick in place momentarily
Turbocharged400sbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 02:13 PM   #11
Welllllllllll ya knowwwwwww.....
 
Turbocharged400sbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: hangover park IL
Posts: 26,499
Casino cash: $46588000
6.01 per day
Default

to be fair we've decided to run dual DBW Tb's on the 442, so im an idiot
Turbocharged400sbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts