Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > Automotive Discussions > 3800 Discussion

User Tag List

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By GTPpower

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2015, 04:55 PM   #1
Dr. Pussy Slayer, MD
 
RICH17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The 007
Posts: 25,519
Casino cash: $110303144
6.54 per day
Default PCM swap

Doing a L36 to L67 motor swap this weekend and want to know if I can swap in a 00 GTP PCM into the 01 Impala without having the security system go nuts?
RICH17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 06:32 PM   #2
Welllllllllll ya knowwwwwww.....
 
Turbocharged400sbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: hangover park IL
Posts: 26,499
Casino cash: $46588000
6.00 per day
Default

Lettuce no
__________________
Double D Racing: Over-engineered and under-funded
Schlimbuilt: 32 orders of magnitude above "good enough"
https://drive.google.com/file/d/15tJ...ew?usp=sharing
04 GTP clone, a nice heap
84 Cressida waGN 3800jz-gte swapped scrap pile
68 F250 camper special 390fe/np435/d60...EFI 460/5spd ZF someday
94 Olds 442 (462ci-4wd-2 engines) new chassis underway... L67/4t80e^[email protected]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfman View Post
3800>all other technology ever
Turbocharged400sbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 10:03 PM   #3
 
TommyGloves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 5,616
Casino cash: $18448103
1.29 per day
Default

I agree with James. I don't think its possible. When I tuned Neil's (L36 SS) Monte after his top swap, the GTP bin wasn't an option. I was stuck using the MC L36/1-bar MAP bin with the SC. It worked fine, but couldn't measure boost.
__________________
Double D Racing: Over-engineered and under-funded
Team OCD: Over-prepared and under appreciated
2017 540xi MSport | 2015 Santa Fe Sport 2.0T Ultimate | 2005 Saab 9-3 Aero | 1999 GTP
TommyGloves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 08:25 AM   #4
Dr. Pussy Slayer, MD
 
RICH17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The 007
Posts: 25,519
Casino cash: $110303144
6.54 per day
Default

So what should we do? Going to have to use DHP and tune it for boost?
RICH17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 09:52 AM   #5
 
1quick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: coal city
Posts: 19,309
Casino cash: $142947447
4.61 per day
Default

I think you will need a file from a supercharged Impala, I loaded a gtp file on my gt computer just fine, but it may not work on different cars
__________________
2016 GT 5.slow
1quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 10:32 AM   #6
 
GTPpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,054
Casino cash: $24433500
0.79 per day
Default

Yeah, you can't load a GTP file on an Impala. I had the same problem with a top swapped Monte Carlo. If there wasn't a supercharged Impala in 2001, you have to run the Impala file with a 1bar map.
TommyGloves likes this.
__________________
05 F350 6.0 - studded, deleted, updated, tuned
01 GTP - Slicks/Skinnies/Nitrous/Stock Trans - [email protected] Sold
66 442 Vert - Needs work
01 GTP Race Car
GTPpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 10:33 AM   #7
Fast BoyZ of IllinoiZ
 
Xfirez51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northwest Chicagoland
Posts: 1,797
Casino cash: $12141900
0.75 per day
Default

Don't meant to hijack the thread, but have any of you "piggybacked" and LSx PCM LIKE A 411 to run ignition only?
Xfirez51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 12:28 PM   #8
 
TommyGloves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 5,616
Casino cash: $18448103
1.29 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RICH17 View Post
So what should we do? Going to have to use DHP and tune it for boost?
I would start with the stock Impala bin and copy over the the fuel (MAF, VE, PE, startup, etc) IFR and spark tables from a GTP bin. If the engine is stock for now, hopefully you can get the fueling close. WOT is going to rely on getting the MAF table correct to get the target AFR to match commanded PE.
TommyGloves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 12:36 PM   #9
 
GTPpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,054
Casino cash: $24433500
0.79 per day
Default

That^^
GTPpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 01:30 PM   #10
 
vyper144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 562
Casino cash: $5364100
0.20 per day
Default

Can I run an 04-05 Impala SS file?
__________________
David
Team Octane
- 2016 Chevrolet Impala LTZ (3.6 LFX V6)
- 2002 Chevrolet Impala LS (3800 Series II N/A) [Garaged #3800Junk]
- 1993 Mercury Grand Marquis LS (4.6L V8) [Sold]
vyper144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 01:46 PM   #11
 
1quick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: coal city
Posts: 19,309
Casino cash: $142947447
4.61 per day
Default

Probably not if they switched to the newer PCM like the Grand Prix did around 04
1quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 03:34 PM   #12
 
b4black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oswego
Posts: 1,042
Casino cash: $18250000
0.26 per day
Default

I thought the Grand Prix went to CANBus in '08? The '04 Regal GS was standard OBD2 - I bet the Impala was too.

I would assume all series 2 3800's were standard OBD2 and not CANbus.
__________________
2013 Lincoln MKS 3.5 Ecoboost
2002 Buick Regal GS (Sold-3800 Alumnus)
1996 Dodge Ram - Cummins 12 Valve - 4x4
1982 Buick Grand National x2
1965 Hemi Barracuda - Richard Petty's 43 JR drag car
b4black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 04:35 PM   #13
 
1quick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: coal city
Posts: 19,309
Casino cash: $142947447
4.61 per day
Default

The PCM was different 04-05 on the Grand Prix then they changed to can bus in 06, not sure on other models of cars but I've had an 01,04 and 06 Grand Prix
1quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 06:17 AM   #14
Welllllllllll ya knowwwwwww.....
 
Turbocharged400sbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: hangover park IL
Posts: 26,499
Casino cash: $46588000
6.00 per day
Default

only the GP was crossed over to the obd2.5 in 04 (CAN capable obd2)

the impSS might work. the problem lies in the cluster display/DIC/BCM coms.

youd probably be able to swing a later GS bin and get it to work.

i had to try a few bins to get one that worked on the 442...a 98/99 GS bin

trial and error
Turbocharged400sbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts