pulling GTP Trans

Xtant12

TCG Elite Member
May 31, 2007
Hello all,

So as some know I need to replace my transmission with 13k on it. Im going with a ZZP Built that will handle a turbo kit. I plan to order it may 12th or so, but I need to pull mine. I have never done this before so can anyone tell me the best way to accomplish this? I plan to print this post so any help you could give me is very appreciated.

Thank you..

Xtant12

RobFRC

C5, GTO, LSE.
TCG Premium
May 29, 2013
Bolingbrook

You tryin to scare this guy into getting rid of the car by looking at that thread LOL.

Guess who else's trans is taking another shit.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPAnCvKJaro

5 gallons of gas and a match is the easiest

^^^Definitely the route I should have gone in retrospect.

Since this guy is getting a built transmission he should be a lot better off than the unlubricated anal raping my car gave me. I just had a string of bad luck for the last few months of 2013.

Xtant12

TCG Elite Member
May 31, 2007
yeah I was unsure if you had to lift it out from the top, or you need to have it on a lift to get out from bottom. Im currently looking for a place to remove it and install my new one when I get it from ZZP. So far I found a place that said 400.00. I was told its a 4 hour job. What do you guys think??

RobFRC

C5, GTO, LSE.
TCG Premium
May 29, 2013
Bolingbrook
It CAN be done in 4 hours if you know what you're doing, my swap took many times that due to stupid problems. Just be safe and plan on 2 days, take your time, don't rage like me.

Some people said it's easier to pull the engine and trans.out the top, but I'd personally always do it the way we did. support engine with strap and board going across the top of the bay, drop subframe by itself then unbolt the transmission and used a floor jack to back it off the motor and bring it down.