3800 Transmisson Leak and Whining

I have noticed a small transmisson fluid leak. I am wondering if anyone knows what exactly is causing this.. I am new to this whole car thing. Also I get a loud whining sound when i turn left. It only happens when i turn left and press the gas or make harder right turns...One more thing I am getting a pulsate from from brakes when i brake.. I think the rotors are not round or warped but how did they get like that? It was fine like a month ago.. i dont do any racing or anything just drive normal(for now)... Thanks...

alexgtp

TCG Elite Member
Aug 3, 2007
As far as the whining That is coming from the power steering pump. DOuble check the fluid level in the resovior. (located way in the back and down almost underneath the alternator towards the firewall) Also on sharp turns the whining is normal..also check for excessive belt slipping on the accessory belt.

As far as pulsating brakes. WARPED rotors. How many miles on the pads and rotors? more than 50,000 time to change them.

Can you pinpoint the location of the tranny leak? Is it directly where the pan is? If it is it might be time for a new gasket..and a tranny flush.

If it is leaking from a hose. The hose might be old and already falling apart. So it is time to replace it.

i WILL CHECK ON THE WHINNING THIS WEEKEND.. NOT SURE HOW MANY MILES ARE ON THE BRAKES... BUT DAM WHEN I AM BRAKING OFF THE HIGHWAY AROUND 6-MPH THE WHOLE CAR SHAKES CAUSE OF THE PULSATE.! i think the leak is coming from the pan.. it is a very smal small leak i see only a small amount on my driveway or where i park... any clue how much to have a new gasket put in? and where to go.. i am in the west burbs..of chicago. And any clue what needs exactly to be done to fix the brakes? i dont want some guy ripping me off and changing more then he needs to.. thanks guys!!!

BLK00GTP

Regular
Jan 20, 2009
Schaumburg