Procharger?

96cobra96

I am about to order a procharger for my 96 cobra (Was thinking about getting an 03 but got a quote for insurance,so that is over). Is there anything I should look out for with prochargers? Are they pretty easy to bolt on, or should I have someone do it? I am going to get the one with a 6lb pulley, that will be enough HP for me (for now). Will I be able to hear the supercharger whining or are they pretty quiet. How much hp could I expect with a tune from SpeedInc? I am really excited to get the procharger!

Thanks

-Tim

Flyn

Go ahead. I'll catch up.
TCG Premium
Mar 1, 2004
Selling homes on the Gulf Coast of Florida
I'm not an expert on ProChargers, but I'm sure you will be able to hear the blower. You could call ProCharger or Speed Inc. for their professional opinions on power gains and ease of install. Or you could check some of the National forums for info. More guys have done that install on www.svtperformance.com or www.corral.net than here...

cobravenom39

GTL>FLA
Mar 1, 2004
How old are you, I am 24 and pay 900/year for my 03, and that is for AAA, w/ really good coverage and 500 deductibles. I gotta friend of mine who is a new insurance agent and just wants to get customers to build a business base. Let me know!

I am not a big fan of the procharger on any four valve. I have heard too many horror stories.

cobravenom39

GTL>FLA
Mar 1, 2004
96cobra96 said:
Will I be able to hear the supercharger whining or are they pretty quiet.

-Tim

With a centrifigul like the procharger, you don't really hear a whine, it is more of a whistle and it is usually only at idle. Under acceleration is sounds like more of a turbo hiss.
Our Eatons and other screw driven blowers are the ones that really whine under acceleration.

hj16

Tasty!
Mar 1, 2004