Android software nerds...Help me with a Smart mirror

Gamble

TCG Elite Member
May 23, 2015
Saw one of these and thought it would be a cool project to have. Especially with my to do list or grocery list that the wife and I can update on our phones and have it show at home too

https://medium.com/@maxbraun/my-bathroom-mirror-is-smarter-than-yours-94b21c6671ba

https://cdn-images-1.medium.com/max/1600/1*k31CzsZOtqA89PBVNN5zWA.jpeg

So I have an android 7" fire table to play with that has been collecting dust so why not. I got google store downloaded and tried a few other types of software and they all suck or are too boring so i want to try this one.

His GitHub is here
https://github.com/maxbbraun/mirror

I have never used android studio before and played around last night but have no idea what i am doing. keep getting errors when importing the project. Also never used GitHub before. Was hoping I could just go to the GitHub from the tablet and install it but didn't have much luck playing around there

The instructions seem so simple but it's not working so well for me lol

Simply import the whole project into Android Studio, then build and run the apk.

Can anyone walk me through this ?

I also ordered the 1way mirror film, it was cheap. $15 for 12" x 24'. I'll probably make a frame as my trip to hobby lobby I came up empty handed.

Lord Tin Foilhat

TCG Conspiracy Lead Investigator
TCG Premium
Jul 8, 2007
Privy Chamber
Its unfortunately not as easy as jusy import and build. That will get a working app apk but won't be set for your region/weather. That requires modifing the keys.xml file to update the stuff for weather/news according to the readme file.

Ill look at it when i get home, this is one of my to do projects but I was going to use a rasberry pi and an lcd but i do have a tablet collecting dust i could try using this method.

Gamble

TCG Elite Member
May 23, 2015