Career Advice

Well I graduated in December with a BS in mechanical engineering but have been having a tough time finding jobs I am interested in, so I haven't applied to that many places, but have been rejected by most. I recently had an interview for a dream job and was supposed to hear back from them late this week with their decision, but never heard anything, so I am going to assume the worst, guessing they offered the position to another candidate and are waiting for their response. I have another offer from a company I handed my resume to at the schools job fair just for kicks, they are offering me position but I don't feel it will give me relevant experience for my career goals (design or test engineer) it is more of a project management type role. The pay is lower than my min value and the commute isn't great. I have to give them a decision by Monday so if I call the dream employer Monday morning and they tell me I didn't get the job, what should I do? I am not hurting for money and I can easily go work for my dad again, I am just afraid if my unemployment gap gets bigger it will hurt my chances of getting any job.

Stats:
distinction: cum laude
Major GPA: 3.5
Overall GPA: 3.1X

Engineer in training licence (Basically just brownie points unless you go into consulting)

1 fortune 500 internship
many years of hands on experience working for my dad's electrical company

plus turtle pace cobra build experience

How many firms have you applied to? If its under 100 you aren't trying hard enough. You're young, and Im guessing you have no real obligations in NE Illinois, the country is wide open.

Definitely haven't applied to that many, writing one off cover letters takes time and writing isn't my strong suit.
Country is wide open but small school names doesn't travel very far.

What school? EIT isn't too important for an ME