OpenWRT?

Mr_Roboto

Doing the jobs nobody wants to
TCG Premium
Feb 4, 2012
Nashotah, Wisconsin (AKA not Illinois)
Anyone done this? I have an Atom D410 Server I'm thinking about tossing it on to replace my crappy Netgear Wireless N router. I've got a USB Wireless card for it. Is a USB Adapter okay with this, or am I better to get a PCI Card. If so which one should I get, and I'd prefer one I could bump to 2W later.

Mr_Roboto

Doing the jobs nobody wants to
TCG Premium
Feb 4, 2012
Nashotah, Wisconsin (AKA not Illinois)
Haven't done any alternate firmware in a long time but seems like many of the newer routers are a bit more open to accepting those.

I have some SOHO shiat and am looking at plausibly going a bit beefier than that. No kill like overkill, if you look at the CPU requirements for even the basic routers they're a lot beefier than virtually any SOHO router.

Why not try pfSense or OPNsense?

I've been running pfSense for 3 years now and it has been rock solid.

Just need to check that Atom has AES-NI as I think the new pfSense versions are going to require it. OPNsense may not have that requirement.

It appears like I can do without it, I just won't get VPN performance that I would otherwise. I have a few spare systems, but really don't want to scope creep that far yet. Maybe I should though as a thought. Would be nice from a security stand point to have it set up as an OpenVPN Server.

My game plan now is to run 2 NICs in the system or use it as a stub router on top of a Catalyst 1G switch. 3750Gs are cheap as all getup now on ebay so I'll probably wind up with one.

muskie

TCG Elite Member
May 26, 2011
Palatine
It appears like I can do without it, I just won't get VPN performance that I would otherwise. I have a few spare systems, but really don't want to scope creep that far yet. Maybe I should though as a thought. Would be nice from a security stand point to have it set up as an OpenVPN Server.