New rider and Bike

regalzzz

Regalzzz
Sep 15, 2008
Wheaton
Real Name
Matt
Just bought a 2001 Suzuki GS 500 for a steal.

I've ridden before but nothing over 250cc.
Getting my class M within the next few weeks.

Before I start riding this daily I wanted maintenance oil, air filter, and grease up chain.
Plan on buying a helmet also
Any recommendation on where the hot spots are for gear and parts in Chicago?
Or what else that should need attention?

ThirdgenTa

TCG Elite Member
Mar 17, 2008
Aurora
Congratulations!
For oil you have your option of going to a dealer and spending $50 on 5quarts of motorcycle oil or you can do Rotella T 15w-40 diesel oil. I have been running the rotella in my bike for 5 years and so have my friends with race bikes, with no issues and it's only $18 for 5 quarts. It does have the clutch additives so you are safe.

As far as gear and parts, the cheapest place is online. But if you like to just go in a store and purchase something, there is DGY in downers Grove, Cycle Gear in Schaumburg and Tinley Park and also a new place opened up in Roselle called Top Gear Powersports. They have bike nights every Tuesday as well.

Before you hop on I would always do a pre ride safety check. Check the tires for proper inflation, check for dry rot, check turn signals, headlight and brake light. Takes all of 2 minutes. Well worth it.

Oh and while you have the tank off doing an air filter you might as well do the plugs

bikrboy128

Some say.....
TCG Premium
Jul 15, 2007
Wheaton
great looking bike! :bigthumb: love the "street fighter" look.
i know it's not local, but denniskirk.com ships the same day and you get your stuff within a day or two. they've got pretty good deals on a ton of helmets/gear, oil/air filters, brakes, etc for your bike. grab some pj1 blue label chain lube from them too, i've found it works great and doesnt make a mess.

regalzzz

Regalzzz
Sep 15, 2008
Wheaton
Real Name
Matt
Thanks guys!
It's a blast while it was together.