need help on installing a double roller timing chain.

SleeperLS

TCG Elite Member
TCG Premium
Oct 19, 2008
West of the Mississippi
Well my timing chain should be here in a couple days. I have 4 days off after the next 2. I am going to make myself install this chain. Problem is that I have zero experience with anything motor related other than accessory crap and intake stuff. I will most likely need a "dumbed down" version of what most people will have to say. I am just going to install the dbl roller as is for now. when I upgrade blocks I will machine it properly.

Also what special tools I will need? I have a torque wrench and plenty of basic tools, but do I need a gear puller or anything like that? Can anyone help me with a start to finish how to guide on how to change to a dbl roller? Thanks in advance!

Is step one take off the flex plate?:dunno:

Handsome Jesus

A V6? What a ripoff...
TCG Premium
Jun 9, 2007
Carpentersville, IL
no, step one is not take off the flex plate. that's the wrong side of the motor. You need to take off the whole front cover, including the harmonic balancer (requires puller). I assume you are going to leave the balance shaft in the motor just disconnected, so no reason to go to the rear cover for anything really.

someone else can fill in the rest. pull off old replace with new. remove tensioner. double gaskets/oil pump cover milled, or use james's method. reassemble etc.

SleeperLS

TCG Elite Member
TCG Premium
Oct 19, 2008
West of the Mississippi